We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good fish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zouthaven

Zouthaven
Piet Heinkade 1, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020 7882090
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,325 of 2,610 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Seafood, International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“good fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I was going to a concert at the Muziekgebouw, and this restaurant was a perfect place to meet my friend and dine beforehand, being downstairs from the concert hall. The salad I had was very good, and so were the scallops. The service was somewhat spotty, though the people were nice enough.

This restaurant is not in the Red Light District, by the way.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    17
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fish on the IJ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were staying at the Movenpick Hotel on the Piet Heinkade where the large cruise ships dock. We were embarking on a Baltic Cruise the following day. We decided that we did not want to walk or take the Tram into the main part of Amsterdam, so we decided to try Zouthaven, a mere half a block away from the hotel entrance. The place was not very busy so we were seated immediately. I really liked the clean design and feel of the place. Great view of the IJ River (canal). We all had fish, 3 turbots and one halibut. We all agreed that it was one of the best fish meals ever. We shared a couple of bottles of Austrian Gruner Veltliner which was perfect with the fish. The service was great, everyone spoke English and a few had either visited our part of Canada or had relatives living in Canada. This is an undiscovered gem that people need to patronize as without customers, no restaurant! We did not eat outside due to the wind, but they have a huge beautiful outdoor patio.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lovely situation on a sunny day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We only had snacks and drinks and sat in the sun beside the canal. There was a pleasant atmosphere it's not really anywhere near the red light district!
The food was fine and the waiting staff were very cheerful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“strange atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We wanted a nice dinner and it was OK. The food was not bad but certainly not exceptional either. There were not many people dining when we were there so it felt like everyone in the restaurant was listening to every word we said.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great restaurant on the waterfront”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We enjoyed a dinner here after a long trip from the US and a day's sightseeing. We stayed at the Moevenpick hotel next door so it was convenient. This is a gleaming new restaurant with very modern accent. Staff was very helpful and attentive. Seafood was fresh and prepared nicely and served elegantly. Their selection of wines was very good and moderately priced. The view of the harbor is great. I assume in the summer you can eat outdoors on the deck. Overall, a great restaurant.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zouthaven also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Zouthaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zouthaven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.