We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely situation on a sunny day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zouthaven

Zouthaven
Piet Heinkade 1, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020 7882090
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,222 of 2,509 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Seafood, International
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely situation on a sunny day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We only had snacks and drinks and sat in the sun beside the canal. There was a pleasant atmosphere it's not really anywhere near the red light district!
The food was fine and the waiting staff were very cheerful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    23
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Dakota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“strange atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We wanted a nice dinner and it was OK. The food was not bad but certainly not exceptional either. There were not many people dining when we were there so it felt like everyone in the restaurant was listening to every word we said.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great restaurant on the waterfront”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We enjoyed a dinner here after a long trip from the US and a day's sightseeing. We stayed at the Moevenpick hotel next door so it was convenient. This is a gleaming new restaurant with very modern accent. Staff was very helpful and attentive. Seafood was fresh and prepared nicely and served elegantly. Their selection of wines was very good and moderately priced. The view of the harbor is great. I assume in the summer you can eat outdoors on the deck. Overall, a great restaurant.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We wanted to eat here on a beautiful Sunday evening. We were staying just next door at the Moevenpick, and walked over just before 8 pm. Unfortunately they had already run out of all of their (already limited) main courses. It is a beautiful location; if they plan on staying in business perhaps they should consider better kitchen management.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Although second to Eye, Zouthaven offers you a perfect view on the IJ waterfront. The restaurant has improved a lot this year on quality of food and service. Best to combine with a concert in Muziekgebouw or Bimhuis.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zouthaven also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Zouthaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zouthaven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.