We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Van Speyk

Van Speyk
Spuistraat 3a, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)
+31 20 4200117
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 2,244 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $23 - $57
Cuisines: French, Dutch, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Red Light District
Tampa, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

The service was impeccable and the food was amazing. It was the last night of our honeymoon and they did a wonderful job of making us feel special. The food was truly unique and was an experience I'll never forget!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    235
    153
    37
    9
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Went here because my daughter used to know one of the chefs when she lived in the Netherlands. We got lucky because this was an excellent choice. The greeting was friendly and professional, the service professional but convivial with out lovely Waitress finding time to talk with us. The Merlot we had was very good and well priced too. The food was excellent. I had the beef, which was melt in the mouth and my wife did even better with the sea bream. Al lovely meal, great service in a nice atmosphere. I will definitely return when I go back to Amsterdam.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Elegant Dutch Food in a Relaxing Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

The food, service and atmosphere was superb. Wandered in because it was close to our hotel, then later spoke with our concierge who recommended it. Very fair price for the quality.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Dutch meets Francaise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Wonderful small meal at the end of a big day touring Amsterdam. I had a salad and my wife had a great soup. We shared a nice little bottle of wine and then split a fabulous plate of local cheeses. We were able to see several dishes we wish we were hungry for.

Like everywhere we went in Amsterdam, the staff spoke wonderful English and were very attentive!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedburgh
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit for the seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I have to say that I don't recognise this restaurant from some of the recent poor reviews. We booked a table for dinner on the basis of the good reviews on this site and were glad that we did so. The food was very good without being totally top notch and the service was excellent. If anything spoilt the experience, it was that, with the location being fairly close to the centre of town (near the station), the restaurant attracted a fair number of tourists - and, unfortunately, a tourist group en masse can be rather boorish.

A first course of scallops with a salad mixed with tiny shrimps was thoughtfully created and utterly delicious; mains of halibut and sea bream were perfectly cooked, with the sea bream being particularly wonderful; the only criticism would be that the halibut was perhaps a little overpowered by its bed of potato. A superb cheese platter (largely French cheeses, however) rounded off an excellent meal.

Altogether, this was a memorable, if slightly expensive, meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Speyk also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to Van Speyk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van Speyk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.