We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Idea Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skotel Amsterdam

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Skotel Amsterdam
Save
You added Skotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Jan Evertsenstraat 171, 1057 BW Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Barrie, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best Idea Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

In May a group of us went on a bike barge trip that started in Amsterdam and we decided to take a couple of days ahead of our departure to explore Amsterdam. I found Skotel Amsterdam on Tripadvisor and booked for four couples. I wasn't quite sure what it would be like as I hadn't heard of "school hotels" before.
It was incredible! The rooms are very large and bright and new! Furnishings are contemporary and the beds were very comfortable. The best part, however, was the staff of students who catered to our every need. Each one we came into contact with was polite and professional and eager to help us.
Breakfast was included - which makes this an even better deal - and they were delicious and substantial. (Lattes were especially good - and pretty too!) The lovely dining room looked wonderful too - but it was fully booked both nights we stayed there. We found a local restaurant that was very good.
Skotel is not in the centre of Amsterdam but a very short ride on Tram 13 gets you there quickly.
An incredibly positive experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    28
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
31
13
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Westminster, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed a few days before the Europa Cup Final. Across the street from the Tram (15-20 minutes to Centraal). I really liked the fact that everyone was "learning" how to work in this demanding environment. Everything was clean, brand new, and functional. I only stayed there one night. Breakfast was good and I would assume was made by students in the kitchen facilities in the hotel. A 3 or 4 course dinner was available in the evening but unfortunately I arrived too late. I would definitely stay there again.

I'm not sure if others have mentioned but the "new" location is NOT the De Klencke address in Trip Advisor. I went there and found a closed down building.

The new location is:
Jan Evertsenstraat 171, 1057 BW Amsterdam

It is across the street from Tram #13 Stop: Admiral Helfrichstraat

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

A little out of the way but the tram out the front was easy, just buy a 24hr pass. Students were friendly, some a little stand offish which made it a bit hard to approach when we didn't know where to go or what to do at breakfast. All in all, good value.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Hotel Skotel is a working college for kids majoring in hospitality. During our stay they were all very eager to please. The breakfast is great and the rooms are spacious. It is across the street from the tram (#13) that will take you in downtown Amsterdam in 15 minutes.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had two rooms in Skotel as we are a family of five travelling staying in Amsterdam (3 adults and two kids). The price of the hotel (which includes breakfast) was the best around. The hotel is not in the centre but the tram (number 13) stops right out the front and will take you to the centre (the hotel will even sell you tickets).

Up the road from the hotel is a big supermarket (we need lots of snacks as the boys eat constantly). Plus a great laundrette that will do 5kgs of laundry for 8 Euro (wash/dry/fold)....great for travellers!

The best part of the hotel is definitely the staff. So keen, helpful and friendly! Stephanie on reception did the utmost to find us a good place for dinner since the Skotel restaurant was booked out (it was booked out the whole week). Stephanie booked a restaurant up the road, printed a map for us and showed us directions. All the the staff on reception and in the breakfast restaurant were wonderful!

The stay at Skotel was really a highlight for us on our trip!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The Skotel has moved to its NEW LOCATION.

Completetly new building, luxurious, and impressive.
Everything is brand new; beds, furniture, flatTV screens, equipments, noise-proofed, linen, etc.

The students do perform a magnificent job; fully service-oriented, polite, available 24/7, and always with a smile.

Room Tip: Each room has a hotel chain brand name; pick up the one you prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was the second time we used the Skotel to stay in, while in Amsterdam. The first time it was in the old building, which was slightly run down, but this time we stayed in the new building in the Jan Evertsenstraat. Great modern buillding, very light. The rooms are spacious, the beds are good and the bathrooms are very modern and looking good.
The breakfast was great and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The same goes for the front office staff.
This is is a hotel run by students and the are doing a great job. I would recommend anyone visiting Amsterdam, to stay in the agreeable hotel. It is a little out of the center and therefore easier to reach by car.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Skotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skotel Amsterdam

Address: Jan Evertsenstraat 171, 1057 BW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Skotel is the traininghotel of Hotelschool The Hague-Amsterdam Campus.Our students will be very happy to welcome you at our new hotel. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.