We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Cute Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skotel Amsterdam

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Skotel Amsterdam
Jan Evertsenstraat 171, 1057 BW Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Israel
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Value Cute Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were looking for a hotel for a family of five in Amsterdam and could find an affordable one, until finding this school hotel. Not too close to the center but close to a tram which leads directly to it and is near a train station so we didn't need a taxi from the airport. Staff was great and very eager to serve, rooms (two connected) were huge and spotless and breakfast was good. The hotel has a cheap gourmet restaurant in which students train to become chefs… We came for the deal but really enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    22
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
24
13
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The hotel is run by students learning about hotel management. They are nice and eager. There were some blips in easily foreseeable requests, like
Misinformation in wifi and dining options but this is more the fault of the training school and not of the students.

I had a horrible, horrible experience with a professor named Mr. Bucker. A student misinformed me that I can eat in one of the dining areas. And they don't accept cash. After letting me wait for a long while they asked me to eat first which I agreed. Lo and behold this Mr Bucker came and reprimanded me with a condescending
Tone that "we went through a lot of trouble receiving your cash" and after I argued with his tone, he asked me to leave the school building. It's only when I threatened to call the police that he gave in to my request to call one of the bosses. She was apologetic but damage has been done.

Do I recommend this hotel. It's great
Until there's a
Crisis wherein professors don't even know how to resolve. Even a minor mishap

But if I were a parent, there's no way I'm
Letting my Child study in that school
Such a great example from a professor
Who teaches hospitality and service!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Very nice place, excellent service. I enjoyed the atmosphere and admired the spirit of excellence of the school.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

This was our second year at the Skotel Amsterdam with friends. We come over every year for Queensday (I'm Dutch) and would recommend this hotel. Great service from professional students, nice clean room and lovely breakfast. We will be booking this hotel again for next year's trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thalwil, Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

The Skotel is for me the best price quality available in Amsterdam. I live in Switzerland and I frequently visit Amsterdam. The alternative for me was to rent a small place but this is defenetly the better option.
The Skotel is run by students and very friendly. OK it's not in the exact center of Amsterdam but than you would also pay another price.
The only thing I can think of as an extra service they could offer is a rental bike. For the rest I can't think of anything!

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castricum
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Had a wonderfull stay together with my wife. Very friendly students, who are really trying to do their outmost best to give you the best service ever. Very good value for money and only a small distance to Oud Zuid.
Would recommend anyone who would like to stay a couple of days in beautiful Amsterdam!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Students and instructors try their best to provide a very pleasant hospitality experience.

Well done.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Skotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skotel Amsterdam

Address: Jan Evertsenstraat 171, 1057 BW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 171 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Skotel is the traininghotel of Hotelschool The Hague-Amsterdam Campus.Our students will be very happy to welcome you at our new hotel. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Skotel Amsterdam to your Saves list