We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The whole world in vast building” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropenmuseum

Tropenmuseum
Linnaeusstraat 2, 1092 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
31-20-568-82-00
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Tropenmuseum like an insider
Skip the Line
$48*
and up
Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass
Ranked #42 of 543 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“The whole world in vast building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

We only had an hour and must go back to see more. We spend some time in a Cairo café and then the World Music Room. In fact there is much it started to blur together in my mind as we walked back to the hotel.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    141
    40
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Escher”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I went to see only the Escher collection that was coincidentally on display when I was visiting there... I loved the Escher section and spent most of my time there...

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Highlight of our Amsterdam visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Incredible variety of historical and artistic artefacts relating to the Dutch colonial past, beautifully presented with English texts. Surprisingly few visitors when we were there. Top attraction for us, will definitely come again!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“More interesting than you'd expect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

All the signage in the main museum is in Englsh as well as Dutch. Very well set out explanations for different previously Dutch colonies, separate areas for different areas of the world, with colourful and diverse exhibits to keep children Musical instruments from around the world room good. The Children's exhibit part was unfortunately only in Dutch for the tour, but was very enthusiastically explained by the guide, and currently features Brazil to tie in with the World Cup. You can wander around by yourself, there's fantastic recycled bright exhibits. Recommended museum for children 6+.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Encourages multicultualism”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Explores the issue of race and cultural identity mainly within Dutch society on the ground floor which is not nearly as right-on or smugly liberal as you may expect from such an aim. Quite honest in its approach and there is a striking photo of the Dutch football team in the 1996 Euro champs at their training camp where all the black players are sat at another table to all the white ones. It does not say its a racist thing per se but tries to explore why that happened (was it accidental, was it player choice due to having more in common with people from the same race of culture etc ). Thought provoking.
Less impressive was the upstairs galleries which lists loads of objects from the distant past of the cultures of the world and especially the old Dutch colony of Indonesia. If the aim of the place is to promote cross cultural understanding then why not show more modern aspects of world culture ? There was some like an excellent mock up of a Middle Eastern café etc but mainly you could go away thinking that the world beyond Europe still goes around in grass skirts and scary masks etc

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropenmuseum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Tropenmuseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropenmuseum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.