We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the most intriguing museums” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropenmuseum

Tropenmuseum
Linnaeusstraat 2, 1092 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
31-20-568-82-00
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #27 of 303 Attractions in Amsterdam
Type: History Museums
Attraction Details
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“one of the most intriguing museums”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The collection from all different continents is fabulous and the amount of pieces and information keeps you busy for hours...moreover the display is arranged in various ways so that you don't get bored at all...don't miss the collection of musical instruments!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    115
    32
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Make time for this”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Good to find out about somebody else's colonial past! Excellent for children/young teens with staff-led activities. Find out about any temporary exhibitions - the recent Escher and Islam was terrific. Don't miss the cafe - freshly prepared, well-priced food with a unusual veggie choices.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great museum - go for the day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I found visiting this museum of anthropology the perfect activity to clear my mind between major museum days. Huge variety of fascinating exhibits reflecting ancient and modern life around the world. Excellent world music interactive section - absolutely perfect for kids.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of the best museums I've been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Tropenmuseum is one of the best museums I've even been to! I could spend a whole day in it! It's about the Dutch collonial past. There are sections about different countries around the world, you could see how the streets, houses, cafes look in those cities. There's plenty of information if you are interested. Everything in interactive and free to touch and experience. It feels like a trip around the world, it's so cool! There are a lot of activities for children. I was so fascinated that I didn't want to leave!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Just the right way to spend an afternoon: original, instructive, interactive, very well conceived.... what a pity the shop was closed. i would have loved a book of their exhibition (Escher)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropenmuseum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Tropenmuseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropenmuseum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.