We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make time for this” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropenmuseum

Tropenmuseum
Linnaeusstraat 2, 1092 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
31-20-568-82-00
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #28 of 300 attractions in Amsterdam
Type: History Museums
Attraction Details
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Make time for this”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Good to find out about somebody else's colonial past! Excellent for children/young teens with staff-led activities. Find out about any temporary exhibitions - the recent Escher and Islam was terrific. Don't miss the cafe - freshly prepared, well-priced food with a unusual veggie choices.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    110
    31
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great museum - go for the day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I found visiting this museum of anthropology the perfect activity to clear my mind between major museum days. Huge variety of fascinating exhibits reflecting ancient and modern life around the world. Excellent world music interactive section - absolutely perfect for kids.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of the best museums I've been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Tropenmuseum is one of the best museums I've even been to! I could spend a whole day in it! It's about the Dutch collonial past. There are sections about different countries around the world, you could see how the streets, houses, cafes look in those cities. There's plenty of information if you are interested. Everything in interactive and free to touch and experience. It feels like a trip around the world, it's so cool! There are a lot of activities for children. I was so fascinated that I didn't want to leave!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Just the right way to spend an afternoon: original, instructive, interactive, very well conceived.... what a pity the shop was closed. i would have loved a book of their exhibition (Escher)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Netherlands colonial past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We went here to see the Escher exhibition (on till Jun/Jul 14) on the top floor, which was really good. Also here are rally interesting exhibits regarding Dutch Empire/colonies and slavery. Interesting ledger with number of slaves on ship, what they cost, how many died, what they sold for. Many activities for children. Listen to world music, play African drums, visit a yurt, and the 'learn to yodel in 13 seconds' booth. Handy lockers to leave bags/coats for 1 Euro deposit.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropenmuseum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Tropenmuseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropenmuseum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tropenmuseum to your Saves list