We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Netherlands colonial past” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropenmuseum

Tropenmuseum
Linnaeusstraat 2, 1092 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
31-20-568-82-00
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #25 of 306 Attractions in Amsterdam
Type: History Museums
Attraction Details
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Netherlands colonial past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We went here to see the Escher exhibition (on till Jun/Jul 14) on the top floor, which was really good. Also here are rally interesting exhibits regarding Dutch Empire/colonies and slavery. Interesting ledger with number of slaves on ship, what they cost, how many died, what they sold for. Many activities for children. Listen to world music, play African drums, visit a yurt, and the 'learn to yodel in 13 seconds' booth. Handy lockers to leave bags/coats for 1 Euro deposit.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    122
    34
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Saint Andrew, Jamaica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

i saw an excellent exhibition about the influence of Islamic art on MC Escher at the Tropenmuseum. There was a lot of other stuff to see but I can only take in so much at a given time. Definitely worth visiting.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Amazing exhibition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

You could spend a whole day here, the exhibits were so well presented and so much interactive displays as well.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Great Museum, spent only 3 hours there, as we were in Amsterdam for 3 days, but could of spent the whole day there... worth a visit...

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Exhibits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

If you're here before January 5th and you have any interest in M.S. Escher, we highly recommend the Escher meets Islam exhibit. The Black and White exhibit was also amazing, but we had to rush through the end of it and didn't have time to see the permanent exhibits because they were closing early for Christmas. Based on what we saw in the two temporary exhibits and as we walked through the permanent galleries to get to them, we need to go back! All of the exhibits are incredibly thoughtful and well done. Even if you come after the Escher exhibit has closed, it's definitely worth a visit.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropenmuseum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Tropenmuseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropenmuseum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.