We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Netherlands colonial past” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropenmuseum

Tropenmuseum
Linnaeusstraat 2, 1092 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
31-20-568-82-00
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$22*
and up
Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal...
Ranked #38 of 404 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Netherlands colonial past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We went here to see the Escher exhibition (on till Jun/Jul 14) on the top floor, which was really good. Also here are rally interesting exhibits regarding Dutch Empire/colonies and slavery. Interesting ledger with number of slaves on ship, what they cost, how many died, what they sold for. Many activities for children. Listen to world music, play African drums, visit a yurt, and the 'learn to yodel in 13 seconds' booth. Handy lockers to leave bags/coats for 1 Euro deposit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kingston, Saint Andrew, Jamaica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

i saw an excellent exhibition about the influence of Islamic art on MC Escher at the Tropenmuseum. There was a lot of other stuff to see but I can only take in so much at a given time. Definitely worth visiting.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CoolieDuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Amazing exhibition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

You could spend a whole day here, the exhibits were so well presented and so much interactive displays as well.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah16072013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Great Museum, spent only 3 hours there, as we were in Amsterdam for 3 days, but could of spent the whole day there... worth a visit...

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Exhibits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

If you're here before January 5th and you have any interest in M.S. Escher, we highly recommend the Escher meets Islam exhibit. The Black and White exhibit was also amazing, but we had to rush through the end of it and didn't have time to see the permanent exhibits because they were closing early for Christmas. Based on what we saw in the two temporary exhibits and as we walked through the permanent galleries to get to them, we need to go back! All of the exhibits are incredibly thoughtful and well done. Even if you come after the Escher exhibit has closed, it's definitely worth a visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Faith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropenmuseum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Tropenmuseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing