We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To discover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropenmuseum

Tropenmuseum
Linnaeusstraat 2, 1092 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
31-20-568-82-00
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$43*
and up
Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass
Ranked #22 of 264 Attractions in Amsterdam
Type: History Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Aix-en-Provence, France
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“To discover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Located in a nice area,this museum is mainly about former Netherland's colonies but not only,We reached it by bike ,crossing a very nice area from centraal station and parked in front of the majestive building.The view on colonialism is rather impartial and honest.Interactive with nice displays,lots of videos ,we found it not boring at all.It is not on the touristic trail (no lines ! )but should be on the list of anyone interested in history and geography;

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    126
    35
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Too bad its kind of out of centre.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I think its one of the most underrated museum of Amsterdam. Its not really touristed compare to other museum but defintely of the finest museum amsterdam has to offer. I recommend to check it out if you visiting Amsterdam.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“My favourite museum in my hometown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The building itself is spectacular and I just really like the atmosphere and stuff from our former colonies.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Boooooorrrrrriiiiinnnnngggg”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I double checked if I entered to the same museum as other reviewers.... It is one of the most boring museums I have ever been at.

We went out after 30 minutes.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great exhibits but no bags allowed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We visited today with 4 kids aged 1-11 years and were dismayed to be told at the entrance that we could only take a very small handbag into the museum. We were happy to put coats and backpacks into the lockers but could not understand why we could not take a large tote bag with nappies, wipes, phone and money etc inside. We were offered a tiny carrier bag by staff that could fit a wallet, definitely no room for nappies or wipes, and no explanation for this strange policy, other than the sign with the size of the very small bag allowed. Once inside, we had a great time with the kids who especially enjoyed the 2nd floor exhibits on Morocco and Africa, the World Music Room and the Esher exhibition. They also had fun making kaleidoscopes and the food was excellent in the cafe. We just felt that the bag policy and staff were very unfamily friendly and the situation was handled very badl. However, after loud complaining we were eventually allowed to take our change bag into the museum by a more senior member of staff. They also told us that the only toilets were on level 0 where the entrance was but we found more on Level 2. Be warned!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropenmuseum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Tropenmuseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropenmuseum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.