We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The coolest museum in Amsterdam (besides art!)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropenmuseum

Tropenmuseum
Linnaeusstraat 2, 1092 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
31-20-568-82-00
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$47*
and up
Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass
Ranked #21 of 265 Attractions in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: History museums, Museums
Attraction details
Beachwood, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The coolest museum in Amsterdam (besides art!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is an amazing museum of the tropics. There are so many cool things here you cannot see the place in one visit. This is another great museum we visit all the time.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    132
    36
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

It was my third stay in Amsterdam and I already visited some more traditional museums so I tried something new. The lady at the reception was very friendly and our bags seemed to be ok. Later on (already in there for more than an hour) a security man showed up and was angry at us because of the sizes of our bags. Seems like they are not sure what is allowed and what not. Exhibition itself is interesting - bring a jumper with you, it's pretty cold in there!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Tropenmuseum has always wonderful exhibits and the permanent collection is superb!
The children museum is very interesting and enjoyable also and the restaurant offers an interesting menu.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A gem in beautiful Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Tropenmuseum is an iconic building with a very interesting collection of Dutch (colonial) heritage. A not to be missed landmark in Amsterdam.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catterick
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Surprising”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We visited this museum because we had a couple of hours to fill, how I wish we'd had longer. So interesting and informative without being dry and academic. Every floor is a feast of colour and sound. I'd have loved to have the time to watch every video and listen to all the recordings. I learned about parts of the world I previously knew nothing about. Altogether a fascinating experience!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropenmuseum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Tropenmuseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropenmuseum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.