We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in beautiful Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropenmuseum

Tropenmuseum
Linnaeusstraat 2, 1092 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
31-20-568-82-00
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #23 of 303 Attractions in Amsterdam
Type: History Museums
Attraction Details
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A gem in beautiful Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Tropenmuseum is an iconic building with a very interesting collection of Dutch (colonial) heritage. A not to be missed landmark in Amsterdam.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    120
    32
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Catterick
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Surprising”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We visited this museum because we had a couple of hours to fill, how I wish we'd had longer. So interesting and informative without being dry and academic. Every floor is a feast of colour and sound. I'd have loved to have the time to watch every video and listen to all the recordings. I learned about parts of the world I previously knew nothing about. Altogether a fascinating experience!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Exhibits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I visited the Tropenmuseum in August 2013. We were there to see the Esher Meets Islamic Art exhibit and spend several hours touring the entire museum. Well worth it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Fascinating for the armchair traveler”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Great Escher exhibit on tessellations and the influence of Islamic art.

It's fun to wander around the permanent collection as well. The cafe offers interesting foods from some of the "tropical" regions.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The perfect fun museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

They have typical houses constructed to show each of the tropical cultures, well organized and explained. It's a big museum and one of my favorites in the world! I strongly recommend, it's also very interesting for the kids. Now they have a nice temporary exhibition of Escher and his relation with islamic art.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Tropenmuseum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Tropenmuseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropenmuseum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.