We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropenmuseum

Tropenmuseum
Linnaeusstraat 2, 1092 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
31-20-568-82-00
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #27 of 303 attractions in Amsterdam
Type: History Museums
Attraction Details
Catterick
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Surprising”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We visited this museum because we had a couple of hours to fill, how I wish we'd had longer. So interesting and informative without being dry and academic. Every floor is a feast of colour and sound. I'd have loved to have the time to watch every video and listen to all the recordings. I learned about parts of the world I previously knew nothing about. Altogether a fascinating experience!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    112
    32
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Exhibits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I visited the Tropenmuseum in August 2013. We were there to see the Esher Meets Islamic Art exhibit and spend several hours touring the entire museum. Well worth it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Fascinating for the armchair traveler”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Great Escher exhibit on tessellations and the influence of Islamic art.

It's fun to wander around the permanent collection as well. The cafe offers interesting foods from some of the "tropical" regions.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The perfect fun museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

They have typical houses constructed to show each of the tropical cultures, well organized and explained. It's a big museum and one of my favorites in the world! I strongly recommend, it's also very interesting for the kids. Now they have a nice temporary exhibition of Escher and his relation with islamic art.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful collection of ancient artefacts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This museum has a wonderful collection of ancient artefacts and also tells a nice story about the various cultures and traditions. It was a nice enriching experience. The museum has 3 floors, the top most floor has most of the African, Surinamese, Mayan, Aztec history and the second floor has Indian, African, South Asian history. The ground floor has a few more collections and recreational space. Would recommend this museum to learn more about the various cultures and traditions.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropenmuseum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Tropenmuseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropenmuseum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.