We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fries.. look no further...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manneken Pis Amsterdam

Manneken Pis Amsterdam
Damrak 41, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
0346 562 040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #618 of 2,444 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Dutch
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Noida, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best fries.. look no further...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had fries only at this place, it was so yummy that we didn't tried any other place in amsterdam.. try it with mayonnaise, it just taste wonderful... located at damrak 41, this place will have most of the people lined up and it won't take much time... try it and recommend it like I am doing :D ... Highly recommended !!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    89
    48
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Strabane, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“so tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was a very convenient place for us as it was beside our hotel. This takeaway chip shop serves their chips in cones; small, medium, large. You also get to choice what sauce you would like with it..yummy!!! always does a good trade!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Best fries around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The very large Vlasaam Frites we had at Manneken Pis on the Damrak main street in Amsterdam have to be the best ones I've had in a very long time. I paid 4.75 euros for the large size (you can add any of many sauces for an extra 0.50 euros each) and I had no idea that large really meant large, something like a foot high cone of fries (we ended up eating only a third of the cone). A real treat.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Super fast, super hot, super crispy, super tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Fantastic fries stand in the centre of Amsterdam.
Service is unbelievably quick once you are at the front of the fastmoving queue, yet the fries are still fresh, hot and crispy, cooked to perfection.
Portion sizes come up large (which, in my mind is a good thing, but be aware if you just want a light snack!)
Large range of tasty sauces; Green Pepper and Samuraisaus got the nod among those who sampled.
Nowhere to sit... but it's only a fries stand so deal with it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Writing the review is making me hungry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

A few years back I visited Amsterdam for the first time and I remember these chips so when I booked my second visit one thing on my agenda was Manneken Pis. This place is hard to miss being on the main strip and surrounded by hordes of people.

I stood in the queue and contemplated what size chips and which sauce I should have - I went for a small chips with classic mayo. Despite the queue I was swiftly served, and I was not disappointed. They were very generous with the chips and the sauce these was enough to feed my husband and me. The chips were hot, fresh, crunchy and yummy and as I am writing this my husband and I are discussing having them when we next visit.

I know they are only chips but if you visit Amsterdam you must try them.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manneken Pis Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Manneken Pis Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manneken Pis Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.