We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected, in all respects” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bickers aan de Werf

Bickers aan de Werf
Bickerswerf 2 | 1013 KX, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 2,434 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Unexpected, in all respects”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Wonderful location, just outside the canal belt, on one of the old harbor islands near the IJ. Not frequented by tourists: mainly locals here. Husband in the kitchen (and he knows his profession), wife is the hostess (she is personable and fun). The menu is always creative. The wine list is okay. Very good value for the money and a great atmosphere.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    7
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Welcoming staff, great food and quirky table and chairs. We had a great evening here. Located close to our holiday accommodation on on Prinseneiland it was the perfect choice after a day walking round the city.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We went here one evening and the staff are really nice. The restaurant is very nice inside and the food is excellent. I ate the spare ribs which were amazing and such a surprise to see so much meat on the ribs. My family also loved there meals and it was a shame we couldn't go there again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fantastic little place on the waterfront”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This small restaurant is a little off the beaten track, but very close to Amsterdam Central Station and in the middle of the vibrant Haarlemmerbuurt. The food is excellent, the staff is very friendly and on summernights, you can sit out on the waterfront. Because it's relatively small, reservations are recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb food, charming staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

The first time we visited Bickers was shortly after it opened and we have been back many times - alone, or with friends from all over the world! On this occasion the sun was shining brightly and we could sit outside on the terrace by the water. As usual we were welcomed with a hug and friendly words from the owners Danielle and Raymond. The four of us shared one Charlie's Heaven as a starter, both tuna and gamba's were delicicous and fresh. One of our friends then had the veal croquettes, another the handroll with salmon, my husband the goose liver (the acceptable type) and I had the steak tartare. There were big smiles on all four faces! This was accompanied by a lovely crisp Chardonnay. The terrace was choc-a-bloc, on one table some 15 ladies were enjoying a scrumptious high tea, boats moored and offloaded their passengers, everyone having a wonderful time. The service was as always very efficient and charming. It is not surprising that Bickers has won the prestigious Restaurant Week award (best for food and service in Amsterdam) several years in a row! We thank Danielle, Raymond and the lovely young lady who served us for a wonderful afternoon. we shall be back. Maria & Keith, Barbara and Nick xxx!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bickers aan de Werf also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Bickers aan de Werf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bickers aan de Werf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.