We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and cold” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Camping Zeeburg

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping Zeeburg
Save
You added Camping Zeeburg to your Saves list
Zuider Ijdijk 20, 1095 KN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Expensive and cold”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stated here for three nights and we thought it was a total rip off. We were in a wicked campervan and it cost us €15 a night basically for somewhere to park our car.
EVERYTHING costs extra; showers, maps, laundry, BBQ etc. There was supposed to be electricity but unless you own the right cable you're paying for something you can't use.

It is VERY windy and cold being on its own little island so I would not suggest sleeping in a tent but campervan or motor home only. And don't expect to be able to access the reception, bike hire or in house grocery store after 12pm, they're only open for 3 hours in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    161
    44
    22
    16
See reviews for
52
171
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed here for a week. First I planned for 4 nights but then stayed for another 3 I enjoyed it so much. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The prices were way too good to beat. The location was perfect! Not too far from anything. I could walk back from the centre of town really easy. The animals on site made it so nice. It felt like I was camping on a farm. I loved waking to chickens outside my tent every morning. The bathrooms are very well kept. The showers however were freezing. Lovely views from the campsite and also lovely views walking to the campsite. When I come back to Europe expect to see me again Camping Zeeburg!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camping_Zeeburg, Manager at Camping Zeeburg, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Ati,
Thank you very much for your review. We are really sorry you had to experience the cold shower. This is not how it supposed to be therefore we took care of it. We apologize for the inconvenience.
Kind regards,
Staff of Camping Zeeburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I traveled here many moons ago and am finally getting to reviewing it. I stayed here for almost two weeks and it was great. The price is so reasonable that it allowed us to spend our money where we really wanted to (food, coffeeshops, and museums) instead of all to just a place to lay our heads. For the most part it was quiet (the weekends got a little noisy) and more private than any hostel we had stayed at on our Europe trip. The staff was very friendly. I came on a recommendation and I've recommended it to everyone who was traveling that way. The commute from downtown Amsterdam is easy on the tram or do what we did - rent bikes and have yourself a lovely and relaxing commute. I love the Netherlands and if you're going to do Amsterdam - bring a tent, sleeping bag and stay here!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camping_Zeeburg, Manager at Camping Zeeburg, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
There guests of Camping Zeeburg,
We want to thank you all for your reviews. It is very important to us to know how our visitors feel about our campsite. We like to improve all the time therefore your opinion is very valuable for us.

Kind regards,

Staff Camping Zeeburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Another popular camping option in Amsterdam is Camping Zeeburg, which is actually the living anti-thesis of Gaasper-Camping. It is located in the eastern area of Amsterdam on a lake island bordered by a lake and a canal on either side. Getting near the site is possible by tram/bus from two directions – Main station and Amstel station. However the routes differ from each other in terms of walking distances and way-side surroundings. If you exit the tram/bus at the terminus “Flevoweg”, you are facing a stiff 10 minutes walk over a motorway bridge and along the motorway. Get down at the end of the bridge and you are there. Coming from the Main station one has to get off at “Zuiderzeeweg”. There are two options now to get to the camping site. One follows the dreaded motorway, so I recommend the other one, even if it takes a little bit longer. Get out of the tram (from Main station) cross the traffic light on your right and walk straight past a parking lot. Keep walking straight on a lane of cobble stones, surrounded by trees. At the end of the lane turn right and again walk straight till you finally come to the canal. Here you turn right, walk straight and pass the bridge under it. A few meters later you are there. Duration with this route: 15 – 20 minutes.

You enter the site (during opening hours) through an open gate and find the reception on your left. Linked with the reception area are a supermarket, a restaurant and a nice outdoor sitting area, where there is often live music in summer. There is also an info-board. It becomes immediately clear that this camping site has a philosophy of living and let live – as long as nobody is overly disturbed or even damaged. Check-in is pretty easy. Register, obtain a small plastic sign for fixing outside at your tent, receive last instructions on where to look for a suitable pitch, and off you go. Having said this one has to add that in summer it is wise to turn up in the morning. At this time many campers leave and you have a greater chance of finding a nice place. Later in the day it becomes obviously much more difficult to find a place at all. The site is not really big. It is divided by trees and bushes into several tent and caravan areas, some of them facing a lake. During high season the tents actually touch each other because of the limited space factor plus the popularity factor of Zeeburg Camping, among youngsters and still-youngsters from all over the world. A great place if you are out to have a relaxed couple of days, meet other free – minded people and enjoy a little bit of a festival-like character, at times. If you can’t bear physical closeness and sometimes a little messiness by quite some fellow campers, don’t come here. If you can’t bear the sight in the morning of your tent neighbour being sunk down in the middle of his food accessories from the previous evening, and still holding a hookah in his arms, don’t come here. In this case “Gaasper Camping” (see description) could be an option for you.

Back on Zeeburg Camping we find sufficient sanitary premises. They are dotted over the site; a really big one close to the reception, and some smaller ones within the actual camping areas. A crew of workers is busy to clean them thoroughly three times a day. That means sometimes waiting a little bit, but at the end it is the campers themselves who make increased cleaning – activities necessary. Meanwhile one could use the waiting time to do the dishes – with free hot water (for this purpose)!
The crew consists mainly of young people, some of them volunteers who enjoy living in Amsterdam for half a year or so. Occasionally one comes across crew members who are heavily tattooed and one wonders what they probably do the rest of their life, but have a problem and you find a lot of sympathy and readiness to help – mostly with a smile. Not everything may be perfect from the viewpoint of an average mid-age and bourgeois middle-European family – but the few short-comings are more than equalled by personal enthusiasm of many of the staff members. Speaking of sympathy one has to mention the little animal petting farm and a playground, both meant to entertain kids. With comparatively little effort the campsite-owners show their sympathy for children. Many grown-up visitors feel well in the public open air sitting area. There one can bring his own snacks (or order some at the restaurant), get a can of soft drink or beer (at very reasonable prices) at the supermarket and watch the world go by while munching. Occasionally a slightly freaked out guy or a girl appears on the scene to give a small guitar or bongo performance – applauded by the audience. At other times there may be some background music from the restaurant. All in all it is a very relaxed atmosphere.

So at the end my conclusion is that this camping site is my personal first choice place in Amsterdam. I’d rate the pros and cons like this:

Pros:
- The setting
- The people
- The staff
- The vibe

Cons:
- The rather long and partly un-inspiring approach to the camping ground.
- The ratio between capacity and actual fill-up of the site.
- The missing “reservation” option which leaves one in a state of doubt (in season), unless one has successfully checked-in.

Room Tip: for less lively camping surroundings see my review about Gaasper Camping
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Camping Zeeburg provided us a pleasant stay in Amsterdam. The staff at the camping site was very professional and helpful. The pricing is reasonable, and the atmosphere is just great! You get to know many new people there from all around, and there's always something to do. You can reach the Amsterdam center quite easily with tram, and if you're lazy, the shop at the reception provides all your basic needs. One night it was raining so much that we changed into a small cabin for the night. The cabin was clean and was good for the price.

I would recommend Zeeburg mostly for young people. If you're travelling with kids or small children, just be aware that this is a camping site with lots of youngsters having fun with alcohol, and other substances, so there is some noise all night. I will be staying there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I have stayed at this campsite about 6 times over the years and I must say it gets better with each visit. The site is easily reached by tram 14 from Dam and 26 from Centraal station. After hours the night bus 359 takes you within walking distance of the site. The site itself is large with cabins and wagonettes for rent for reasonable rates and an extensive campervan and tent site. Recent renovations to the site have been a great success, with covered sitting areas outside the very good bar / restaurant. This is a great place for sitting and chilling out and meeting fellow travellers. The shop is well stocked and reasonably priced and the staff are efficient and very friendly. There are bikes and kayak's to rent from the site. All in all its a great place to spend a few days while you explore Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

perfect jumpstart to our euro-trip. relaxed, efficient, large site with all the right amenities including a well stocked shop and bar for when you are nursing your hangover or other-over.

mixed crowd, but site is large enough that you aren't bothered by noise.

quick tram ride into the city, but when in netherlands do as the dutch do and take a bike (hopefully your own as the camp ones are a little old/bumpy and expensive to rent)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camping Zeeburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Zeeburg

Address: Zuider Ijdijk 20, 1095 KN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a relaxed place to stay in Amsterdam? Then Camping Zeeburg is the perfect place to enjoy your holidays! A unique location, situated on an island in the IJmeer surrounded by nature and only 15 minutes away from the city centre. With an open, friendly and tolerant atmosphere we welcome all kinds of travelers, from all over the world. You can pitch your tent, bring your camper/caravan or stay in a comfortable wagonette or cabin. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camping Zeeburg Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Camping

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camping Zeeburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.