We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay April” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camping Vliegenbos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping Vliegenbos
Save
You added Camping Vliegenbos to your Saves list
Meeuwenlaan 138, 1022 AM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #34 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Mechelen, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One night stay April”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had a great time @camping Vliegenbos!
We were there for just one night bus everything was more than OK.
We visited the festival DGTL near by.
The camping was full of young party people but the atmosphere was great and we had no trouble sleeping because of noice or anything.
Toilets and showers were clean. People were very friendly.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    119
    26
    13
    26
See reviews for
48
86
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stopped 2 nights at this site. I would of happily stayed for longer!

We originally had planned to stop at another campsite, but when we turned up It was a gated car park. So I got onto google, and we found Vliegenbos. So glad we did!

Upon arriving, the beautiful lady at reception booked us in, and gave us all the information we would need for visiting Amsterdam centre. We parked up, hooked up the electric. Then showered and headed out.

I can't think of any negatives for this campsite. Bonus was being given my passport as I set off, as I had totally forgotten I had left it at reception.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My wife and me (both aged middle-twenty) deceided to make a sponatneous trip to Amsterdam. I have been to Vliegenbos in 2008 before so I chose this location again. I gave them a call and they were very polite and friendly. Their answer was like "you can arrive whenever you want, we always have a place for a tent" and so we arrived about 24 hours later. We travelled with our own car for which we got offered an on-site parking slot. The compound is about 15-foot-minutes from the Amsterdam central station and there are 2 big groceries next to the compound. So it's perfect for a short trip to Amsterdam without being in the crowded city centre AND without being dependent on a car to reach the city. The whole area is very clean. There is no garbage on the ground or on the grass. Everythings looks very tidy. Except for the sanitary facilities - they are cleaned 1 time per day early in the morning and according to this they are muddy in the evening hours and the warm water could be a bit warmer... But based on the prices it's definitely okay! They also have a small on-site grocery store with a good assortment of goods and the most necessary goods you could need for a camping trip. My conclusion:
- Good prices.
- Excellent Service.
- Great local facilities and utilities.
- Average sanitary facilities.

We would go there again at any time! :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We originally planned to camp at another site in Amsterdam but were referred to this site after complaining at the condition of our first choice. What a pleasant surprise we had !. The site manager was helpful, pleasant, well informed and very professional. He offered us storage facilities and free mobile charging and WiFi as well as some great advice on local shops and transport links.
The site was clean ,well organised with excellent facilities and is in a great location with access to good shops and a free ferry service to the centre of Amsterdam just behind Central Station. As well as the showers / toilets being spotlessly clean there was also a covered eating area with access to electricity points ( great for a mobile phone charge). There were also wooden benches dotted around the camping field which were very useful. it isn't a huge camping field but that was a bonus for us as it was lovely and quiet.
Another bonus for us, as cyclists, was the proximity to fantastic countryside and cycle lanes. I really can't think of anything bad to say about this site - we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We have been visiting camp Vliegenbos for several years and October 2013 was our 10th visit to the campsite. The manager even reconsigned us and gave us a discount as its was our 10th visit which was a lovely touch, thank you.

We absolutely love this place and would have no hesitation in recommending it as the perfect affordable accommodation if you want to visit Amsterdam.

The campsite is set back from the main road and considering you are so close to the city the campsite is wonderfully peaceful and relaxed.

The staff are always beyond friendly and go out of their way to help you with everything from charging you electrical devices for free or giving you directions and information on local attractions.

The campsite has four fields for camping as well as cabins dotted around well keep grounds. The toilets are well maintained and we always find them to be clean and tidy.

There is also a camping shop and restaurant which was great for picking up things like fresh eggs or grabbing a coffee on a cold morning. Must also recommend their waffles... yum!

The city centre is 5-10 minutes away from the bus stop which is located a minute away from the site. We normally rent bikes (great little bike shop behind the campsite, grab a voucher from reception as you get money off if you are staying at the campsite), its a 5 minute bike ride to the free ferry which takes you straight to central station. The ferrys run back and fourth all day and it only takes a couple of minutes. We have walked it before and you can do it in 20 minutes give or take.

There is a supermarket (dirk) a couple of minutes from the campsite that is reasonably priced for all your food needs.

We cannot praise camp Vliegenbos enough, great location, great setting, lovely people and considering the cost of hotels in the city incredibly great value for money.

Roll on 2014 so we can visit again! :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were a group of 4 people and arrived on short notice. Even though they we're fully booked out, they managed to get us a bungalow. The staff were really nice.
The campsite is located about 5-10 minutes from the main train station by bus (which makes it the campsite located closest to the centre of amsterdam).
Bathrooms and showers were always clean and nice.
We had a great stay and would love to come again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We have stayed here on a few occasions over the last 5 years, and since the new management has been in place it is a great improvement to the site, from the moment you arrive your made to feel welcome, great location for the city centre, 15min walk to ferry straight to central station or the bus outside the camp site gate. security is ok never had a problem, facilities are ok at best.
as we have stayed almost in every month over the last 5 years, if your early or late in the year the showers can be a little cold, a few more degrees on the water temperature and heating would be great. washing up facilities pretty much the same, ok if you wash in cold water.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camping Vliegenbos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Vliegenbos

Address: Meeuwenlaan 138, 1022 AM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unique location in the north part of Amsterdam.Just a 15 minutes walk to the ferry which takes to the hart of the beautiful city of Amsterdam. The campsite is situated in the oldest cityforest of the Netherlands.On site you´l find a nice restaurant, free showers and use of toilets.Being a geust gives you free wifi.Public transport to and from the city on 300 mtrs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camping Vliegenbos Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camping Vliegenbos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.