We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, cheap for AMS, bar/wifi not much else.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Meeting Point Youth Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Meeting Point Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Meeting Point Youth Hostel
Warmoesstraat 14, 1012 JD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Falls Church, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great location, cheap for AMS, bar/wifi not much else.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Five buddys and I meet up in AMS for the night and stayed here. Got an 8 person room for 20 Euro each, bathrooms were clean and had a good shower. Rooms/beds were just ok. We just needed a place to stay and come back to after a night out, so it was great for us. Place seemed pretty safe and in a great location. An extra 2 euro for the locker in the room.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    53
    51
    13
    10
See reviews for
1
8
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

I stayed at Meeting Point with some friends and we had a great time. The hostel is perfect if you're young and want to party. We met a lot of nice people from all over the world and the people at the reception were friendly. I found the beds absolutely great. If you're looking for fun, stay at Meeting fun!

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diarlington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

I'll get the good points out the way first as it is easily the briefest part of this review:
- handy location as can get to most places with ease
- some friendly staff and a relaxed 24 hour bar area
- Good showers for a hostel

On the other hand, the rooms were dirty. The bed sheets are fresh when you get there, although are no longer the white they must have been when purchased and are not changed again during your stay. The rooms get a cursory vacuum clean each day, although having watched this being done, I think only about 45% of the floor was covered. People smoke in the rooms and nothing is done about it even when confronted.

The toilets and bathrooms had awfully grimy looking floors, so ensure you have flip-flops. An interested odour permeates the building, something between strong bleach, disinfectant and tequila. The bar, despite being pleasant, serves a limited supply of snack food (toasties) which are prepared in the open kitchen at the back, which often has a friendly white cat prowling through it - quite a worry for hygiene.

For the money you pay, you'd probably expect this or at least slightly better. Its a good location, but you could easily get the same for less money or better for the same money... I looked at other places whilst there to confirm this.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
europe
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

Location is great. But thats about it.
I've never seen such dirty bed sheets in any place I ever been to. and they stink like they haven't been washed for months even though they change them every day.
also you better not walk around the room in socks- it takes quite a while to wash them afterwards =)
even though the janitor runs around the rooms with a vacuum-cleaner in the morning, nothing actually changes.....
Windows are old and rotten.so if its cold outside-its cold inside. the "central hearting" bearely heats and only at night.
WC is ok, but taking a shower is quite a fun activity=)
1minute hot water- 30 seconds cold water and so on=)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

This hostel is in a fantastic location - close to dam square, red light district and the canals. Staff were friendly and gave good advice on where to visit. The bar seemed to have a nice atmosphere downstairs, with reasonably priced drinks and snacks.
We were staying on the top floor and i have to say it was a mission each day to get to the top, especially with luggage. We were staying in an 18bed room (which incidentally had 20beds) which on the first night was completely full so it smelt really bad, however there are French doors opening onto the street below which helped with ventilation. there are a few bad points:

-Beds felt really grotty and dirty- take your own sheets!
-bad plumbing in the ladies toilet
-constant flickering light in ladies toilet
-no hot water in ladies shower, had to sneak into the mens one!!

Aside from those it is a great base to explore the city. Having no curfew was excellent, and i always felt safe down in the bar. There is breakfast available each morning for 2.50euros, which compiled of 3 slices of toast, butter, jam, a slice of cheese, a boiled egg and a cup of tea/coffee.

if i visit the city again i would happily stay there.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

So, for the location, this place is amazing. Literally, right in the middle of the red light district and easy access from the train station (and airport).

However, even for hostel living, this place had a lot of draw backs.

First, it is a hostel. So, you can expect the crowded rooms of about 6-10 people, the cheap rates, a dirty bar and a 2 euro breakfast of toast and a slice of cheese. But, it is also one of the worst hostels I have stayed in while traveling around Europe. As mentioned earlier, most areas of this hostel seem "dirty" and the bathrooms look as though they could be harvesting STDs. The showers, while also dirty, do not even perform their functions of providing you with hot water. Which, I thought to be a little off setting for a hostel in Amsterdam; i.e., this is not the third world. Though, considering how you spend most of your time in the area, you have no problems - and no problems were incurred - sleeping in their sheets.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

Is was only a couple of blocks away from the main train station,. Is is located near the red light district, on a street full of cofee shops and nightlife.
The room I stayed in was for 10 people, a little bit crowded, smelly and stinky.
The bathrooms where nice and mostly clean.
You should go through the bar when coming from the street in order to get to the rooms. There is also a large stairs, that could be a problem if you are carrying your luggage all the way up because the steps are quite tall, like all the steps that you will find in Amstedam.
The staff is really helpfull and comprehensive.

Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meeting Point Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meeting Point Youth Hostel

Address: Warmoesstraat 14, 1012 JD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travellers who aren't afraid to explore Amsterdam's lively atmosphere, Meeting Point is the best place to crash. It is situated in the heart of Amsterdam...2 minutes walk from the central station...and all main atraction are in walking distance...in Our bar you will meet fellow travellers from all over the world.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Meeting Point Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meeting Point Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meeting Point Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.