We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the middle of Red light; but, you won't ever want to go back there.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Meeting Point Youth Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Meeting Point Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Meeting Point Youth Hostel
Warmoesstraat 14, 1012 JD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Hanoi, Vietnam
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Right in the middle of Red light; but, you won't ever want to go back there.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

So, for the location, this place is amazing. Literally, right in the middle of the red light district and easy access from the train station (and airport).

However, even for hostel living, this place had a lot of draw backs.

First, it is a hostel. So, you can expect the crowded rooms of about 6-10 people, the cheap rates, a dirty bar and a 2 euro breakfast of toast and a slice of cheese. But, it is also one of the worst hostels I have stayed in while traveling around Europe. As mentioned earlier, most areas of this hostel seem "dirty" and the bathrooms look as though they could be harvesting STDs. The showers, while also dirty, do not even perform their functions of providing you with hot water. Which, I thought to be a little off setting for a hostel in Amsterdam; i.e., this is not the third world. Though, considering how you spend most of your time in the area, you have no problems - and no problems were incurred - sleeping in their sheets.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    59
    53
    13
    11
See reviews for
1
8
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

Is was only a couple of blocks away from the main train station,. Is is located near the red light district, on a street full of cofee shops and nightlife.
The room I stayed in was for 10 people, a little bit crowded, smelly and stinky.
The bathrooms where nice and mostly clean.
You should go through the bar when coming from the street in order to get to the rooms. There is also a large stairs, that could be a problem if you are carrying your luggage all the way up because the steps are quite tall, like all the steps that you will find in Amstedam.
The staff is really helpfull and comprehensive.

Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2008

The hostel has not very clean rooms. The carpet and matressess has many not definable blotchs, so I recommend you to take your own sheet with you. But you have enough space for your luggage. The bathroom is rather clean.

The staircase, which you have to use when you came into the hostel through the bar and to your room, is very cliffy.

The hostel is very near to the central station (by walk 1 min.) and the red light district. Next to the hostel are many coffeshops and smartshops too. It also has a very cheap and good wok restaurant next to the hostel.

But the hostels pick of the bunch is definitive the bar. It looks like an old british pub, with to big flat tvs which always playing football. It has really cheap beer and a pool table. In the bar room it has 5 large tables on which it is allowed to eat food which is bought outside (takeaway). It has also a smoking room with a beautiful view on the amstel, or another big river (i'm not quite sure about that). In the smoking room its allowed to smoke weed with tabaco, not like in the coffeshops where it's only allowed to smoke pure joints. In the night the smoking room is closed and its allowed to smoke in the bar, which is 24/7 open.

The employees are very friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Bar / Lounge
  • Disliked — Disgusting blotch
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2007

I stayed here for three nights in an 18 person room. Hostels in Amsterdam apparently fill up really quickly in the summer, so this was our only real option for our price range (as cheap as possible). This is the quintessential hostel experience. There are so many twenty something year olds from every where in the world. The rooms are only really conducive for sleeping (bring an eye mask, ear plugs) but the 24 hour bar downstairs is pretty cool for meeting people, drinking cheap beer and smoking. The bathrooms are pretty nasty because so many people are using them, so if that is an important thing to you, this may not be the place to stay. The location however, is amazing for the person who wants to experience all of Amsterdam. Very close to the train station, in the red light district and not a long walk from shopping and museums. Rent a locker (55 gallon drum with a lock) while you are there because you don't know who is staying there, although only guests can get in the building.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — bathrooms, the smell of an 18 person room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2007

I like the Meeting Point, and I have stayed there a number of times. The price is best in comparison to other hostels with similar location. I always choose the mixed dorm on one of the three floors. Although it has maybe 14 bunk beds, I almost invariably get assigned to a top bunk. But then, all I really do when I'm there is sleep. It's not a place for hanging with new friends in the dormitory: If others are sleeping, hostelers are considerate about keeping the lights off and keeping talking to a minimum. The windows of the dormitory open onto the street of the Red Light District, so noisy nights outside can be a disturbance. The showers and toilets are basic: No soap or towels (but on my last morning there my bed sheet will be my towel!) Because of this, I would not choose to stay here the night before a long-haul flight. In spite of all that, the real attraction of the place is the location and price. If all you need is a place to sleep without paying a lot, this is it. It is so easy to walk to from the Central Station, and there is no curfew. Any of the nighttime attractions are a reasonable walking distance, although Liedseplein and Rembrandspein are a bit of a hike. (The Reception is closed late at night -- after 1? -- so if you arrive in the middle of the night you will be turned away.) On occasion I may have been concerned about security of belongings -- but if I really feel worried I could lose something, I make use of a locker at the train station for valuables and non-essentials, bringing things I can't do without in a day pack. On the ground floor beyond Reception is the bar with tables, a TV, and pool table, open all night as near as I can tell. Here's the place for meeting others staying there, with a very appealing laid-back atmosphere. Only people staying there are allowed in the bar area. The desk staff is friendly and helpful. The check-out time is 10:00, so you can expect to be wakened at that time to ask if you are staying another day. (Looking for a good breakfast? Go out the door, turn left, walk two blocks to the T-junction, turn left and walk a block and a half: There you will find the place for a breakfast buffet at 8.50 euro (I think).

  • Liked — Price, location, friendly staff, simplicity, bar
  • Disliked — Hostel bunk beds close together
  • Stayed August 2005, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colico , lake of Como
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2007

I've been there for 2 nights only because i had to leave the city. It's in the REAL centre of the city. Nice people, kind staff and a smoking area that reminds a coffee shop. The ideal to meet people and
relax before a good sleep. Try it!

  • Liked — Smoking area
  • Disliked — no electricital socket in the room
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2007

The Meeting Place is a super place to stay! The staff is friendly, the rates are resonable and the atmosphere is great! I am a single young woman who traveled alone and I totally disagree with the other young woman who posted...sorry your experience wasn't good...mine was fantastic! Besides other travelers, alot of locals hang there. I met so many friends that I still keep in touch with. The bar is open all night, so even when everything else shuts down you can still drink and smoke and hang out! The view from my room was great, overlooking the water and Centraal Station. I will definately go back!

  • Liked — Friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — The loud contruction going on outside began early in the morning
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meeting Point Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meeting Point Youth Hostel

Address: Warmoesstraat 14, 1012 JD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travellers who aren't afraid to explore Amsterdam's lively atmosphere, Meeting Point is the best place to crash. It is situated in the heart of Amsterdam...2 minutes walk from the central station...and all main atraction are in walking distance...in Our bar you will meet fellow travellers from all over the world.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Meeting Point Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meeting Point Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meeting Point Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.