We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheapest hostel in Amsterdam, good enough!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meeting Point Youth Hostel

Save Saved
You added Meeting Point Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Meeting Point Youth Hostel
Warmoesstraat 14, 1012 JD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 173 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cheapest hostel in Amsterdam, good enough!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Even if it's the cheapest hostel in Amsterdam it's still expensive, 21€ per night. The rooms were very big and full of nice people, friendly and not noisy. The bathrooms were big enough and clean. Wi-fi is free only if you have your device, but it doesn't reach the upper rooms. There's breakfast but you have to pay for it. The location is right in the centre of Amsterdam, but it's like 50 metres form the red light district so not a family hostel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    45
    39
    12
    9
See reviews for
1
7
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

As a hostel it is very good. The bar is nice and cosy where you can while away some time chilling. The rooms are well maintained and clean.
The bar sometimes seems understaffed but the staff on the whole are knowledgable and friendly

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Excellent location on the edge of the Red Light District less than five minutes walk from Central Station. Staff were friendly and helpful. The 16 bed mixed dorm in which we stayed was perfectly clean but only having one power socket in the room wasn't great. Showers and toilets were ok for cleanliness. Definitely a safe (and relatively good value) choice for Amsterdam but not particularly memorable or special.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is in a really great location and for that reason I would stay again. However, the rooms are pretty dingy and damp and there's limited facilities e.g no kitchen or lounge area. However I did really enjoy my stay here

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The hostel was in a great location, right at the start of the Red Light District and also only about 3 minutes from the Central Station and it was very reasonably priced.
Personally I thought the majority of the staff were great, and the facilities were ok. As people have mentioned though there is nowhere in the rooms to charge your phones etc and the only places are on a couple of tables in the common area, which did get a little cramped.
The common area was a good place to meet other visitors and chat to them and even have the odd game of pool which was cool. The smoking room at the end was a bit of a nuisance but once you got used to it you just ignored it.
Wouldn't recommend having breakfast there though, would go a little bit further down the street to a proper cafe for a more filling meal.
I will warn you though if you are slightly unfit or come back drunk (both of which I am/did), you will struggle if your room is any higher than the 1st floor, as there are no lifts and a hell of a lot of stairs!
Also the bathrooms weren't the most spacious but it's a hostel, so you should really expect that.
All in all though, enjoyed the hostel and will definitely stay here again when I come back to Amsterdam soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinstra, Norway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed here during some busy and warm July days, and had booked on account of the good reviews this hostel had gotten on tripadvisor.com.
First the good news: the staff was absolutely super helpful, and the location was great.
Other than that I don't see what all the good reviews in here are on about?
There was no fan or AC in the rooms, which in the middle of July kinda is a big deal! There were no power outlets (!!!) in our room, so we had to go downstairs to the bar to charge phones.
Also, there was no kitchen. They were trying to get this to happen, and I'm not sure if this is normal around European hostels, but this was a big letdown to me and my travel buddies.
The price was allright though, so if you can sleep through a heat storm and don't need to cook your own food or has any technical appliances that don't need charging, go ahead!
The location was really good, but they'd have to change quite a few things before I return.

Room Tip: We were facing west, so the afternoons were terribly hot! On the other hand, had we had the rooms fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed here one night in the 8 bunk bed room. Nothing worthy of note, you'll have to pay 2 euros for the use of a locker. The receptionist was friendly, the location is good for sightseeing or longer travel (Central Station). The bathroom is pretty small and dirty. The hotel has a smoking room, so that's always nice. Wifi was alright.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meeting Point Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meeting Point Youth Hostel

Address: Warmoesstraat 14, 1012 JD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 173 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travellers who aren't afraid to explore Amsterdam's lively atmosphere, Meeting Point is the best place to crash. It is situated in the heart of Amsterdam...2 minutes walk from the central station...and all main atraction are in walking distance...in Our bar you will meet fellow travellers from all over the world.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Meeting Point Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meeting Point Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meeting Point Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.