We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, friendly staff and satisfactory accomodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Meeting Point Youth Hostel

Save Saved
You added Meeting Point Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Meeting Point Youth Hostel
Warmoesstraat 14, 1012 JD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent location, friendly staff and satisfactory accomodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Excellent location on the edge of the Red Light District less than five minutes walk from Central Station. Staff were friendly and helpful. The 16 bed mixed dorm in which we stayed was perfectly clean but only having one power socket in the room wasn't great. Showers and toilets were ok for cleanliness. Definitely a safe (and relatively good value) choice for Amsterdam but not particularly memorable or special.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    46
    46
    13
    9
See reviews for
1
7
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is in a really great location and for that reason I would stay again. However, the rooms are pretty dingy and damp and there's limited facilities e.g no kitchen or lounge area. However I did really enjoy my stay here

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The hostel was in a great location, right at the start of the Red Light District and also only about 3 minutes from the Central Station and it was very reasonably priced.
Personally I thought the majority of the staff were great, and the facilities were ok. As people have mentioned though there is nowhere in the rooms to charge your phones etc and the only places are on a couple of tables in the common area, which did get a little cramped.
The common area was a good place to meet other visitors and chat to them and even have the odd game of pool which was cool. The smoking room at the end was a bit of a nuisance but once you got used to it you just ignored it.
Wouldn't recommend having breakfast there though, would go a little bit further down the street to a proper cafe for a more filling meal.
I will warn you though if you are slightly unfit or come back drunk (both of which I am/did), you will struggle if your room is any higher than the 1st floor, as there are no lifts and a hell of a lot of stairs!
Also the bathrooms weren't the most spacious but it's a hostel, so you should really expect that.
All in all though, enjoyed the hostel and will definitely stay here again when I come back to Amsterdam soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinstra, Norway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed here during some busy and warm July days, and had booked on account of the good reviews this hostel had gotten on tripadvisor.com.
First the good news: the staff was absolutely super helpful, and the location was great.
Other than that I don't see what all the good reviews in here are on about?
There was no fan or AC in the rooms, which in the middle of July kinda is a big deal! There were no power outlets (!!!) in our room, so we had to go downstairs to the bar to charge phones.
Also, there was no kitchen. They were trying to get this to happen, and I'm not sure if this is normal around European hostels, but this was a big letdown to me and my travel buddies.
The price was allright though, so if you can sleep through a heat storm and don't need to cook your own food or has any technical appliances that don't need charging, go ahead!
The location was really good, but they'd have to change quite a few things before I return.

Room Tip: We were facing west, so the afternoons were terribly hot! On the other hand, had we had the rooms fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed here one night in the 8 bunk bed room. Nothing worthy of note, you'll have to pay 2 euros for the use of a locker. The receptionist was friendly, the location is good for sightseeing or longer travel (Central Station). The bathroom is pretty small and dirty. The hotel has a smoking room, so that's always nice. Wifi was alright.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

I travelled end of July with two friends. We arrived very early in the morning and our check in time was much later so the hostel allowed us to put our luggage downstairs while we explored the city. We stayed on the 2nd level of dorm rooms. Very clean bathrooms and the beds were well spaced around our room.
It was a great location about a 5 min walk from the main station and right next to the red light district.
We were also 10mins away from the main shopping street and the main square with the new church and the palace.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This hostel is within 5 minutes of walking from the train station Amsterdam Centraal, it is easily found with instruction on the booking reference.
We found this hostel to be the cheapest hostel out of all the ones we looked at, which is surprising for the location of the hostel is amazing. It is right in the middle of the red light district and on the same street as it are many coffeeshops and things to do.
The staff speak great English and are very helpful.
The bar is the cheapest one you'll find in the area and has tables with extension leads ( this is because the bedrooms do not have plugs in them), there is free wifi, which is always a bonus.
We booked to be in the 18 bed bedroom but it is actually 20, though most people are fairly quiet and friendly so this wasn't a problem for the 7 of us.
There are male and female bathrooms which were cleaned everyday and had plugs in them by the mirror.
The beds were clean and comfortable, no need for pillows or sleeping bags.
There are lockers that cost 2 euros with a 10 euro deposit, these are secure and safe to use and are found in the bedrooms themselves.
If you plan to go to Amsterdam and want cheap accommodation then this is the place to stay as the city itself is expensive.

Room Tip: There are many stairs to climb, so it can quite tiring!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meeting Point Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meeting Point Youth Hostel

Address: Warmoesstraat 14, 1012 JD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travellers who aren't afraid to explore Amsterdam's lively atmosphere, Meeting Point is the best place to crash. It is situated in the heart of Amsterdam...2 minutes walk from the central station...and all main atraction are in walking distance...in Our bar you will meet fellow travellers from all over the world.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Meeting Point Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meeting Point Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meeting Point Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.