We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very small beds” 3 of 5 stars
Review of King Hotel

Save Saved
You added King Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
King Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 85-86 | just off of the famous Leidseplein, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #243 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
“Very small beds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

The hotel is good, a friendly staff and good value for money when som centra. But the beds were too small! I guess it would be ok for a couple, but for two friends it just is too "intimate". The room was spacious enough to put in a somewhat bigger bed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    74
    77
    46
    29
See reviews for
12
133
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Shields, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Booked this hotel as part of a KLM flight hotel special offer. Was worried about prior stories here of building work which seem to be largely complete and were no disturbance (stayed 4 nights starting Wednesday).
My single room was small and would have been jammed if a 2nd single bed was present (but it was not) Room clean, bed very comfortable and bathroom neat and new with powerful hot shower.
Very convenient to Leidsplein (excellent choice of restaurants good night life) about 150 yards away without spillover noise and less that 10 mins walk to Museum quarter.
From Central station night time taxi cost 12.50 euro. Canal boats close by as well as on Hop on Hop off stop.
Breakfast choice simple continental- no quibbles. It is served at nearby Quentin Hotel
To me its was a trade off on costs for a room to sleep, convenience for sightseeing. Very happy with my choice
And yes you check in at the Quentin which is 25 yards to the right along the street.
You might consider using the lift which should run from ground floor but was only running from 1st floor when I tried (i did not see it on arriving). Stairs; narrow steep.
Service at check in and out was fast and good; no problems- nothing exceptional

Room Tip: My internal facing room (#312) was good with large window for fresh air. Would suggest considering f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Room was a comfortable size, very clean and shower was great(even had dispensable shower gel/shampoo/conditioner inside the shower!) Although there was some building work going on downstairs, our room was on the 4th floor so it wasn't too much of a problem for us, however I do think the hotel owners should of warned all their guests in advance. Our TV was on the edge of falling off the wall, but it held out and there was a selection of English channels which was a pleasant surprise. When we arrived we were told we had to put down a €20 deposit for the room key card, which we had not been made aware of. Breakfast was what you'd expect from continental; cereal, bread, ham, cheese, boiled eggs, delicious yoghurts and a choice of drinks. Staff were helpful and friendly and hotel is in a great location for trams etc. Overall the hotel was very good value, better than I expected! Reading some of the reviews on here before going I was apprehensive but we had a great stay and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a double room, make sure you request one in your reservation as you may end up with a tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I don't think this hotel is worthy of three stars, two at best, the rooms are very small and basic. Very annoyed to find we are sharing the place with a set of smelly builders. The smell of stale sweat fills the hotel and not in a pleasant way either. They are banging and crashing all day and as late as seven pm whilst they modernise the ground floor. It might have been nice if the hotel had warned us of upcoming building works when booking.

The single bed is so narrow I have to be careful when turning over or I will fall out.

The first night at 5am I had to call reception as people in the room opposite were being idiots and keeping us all awake. Fair play to the night porter who did sort out the problem though.

You have to pay extra to use the safe in your room. The towels are tiny and you only get one.

Good points: There seems to be a never ending supply of hot water, well located for town, canal side location; however I can’t see it from my room. The breakfast, such as it is, is free at least.

Beware though some of the staff are grumpier than I am ;)

Room Tip: Room 3 is very small and has no view. This is not a quiet hotel at night because of drunk guests goi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Small but clean room, continental breakfast at Quentin Hotel next door, great position near Leidseplein, easy to reach with public transport. Good place/position to start exploring the city. Friendly staff, helped us to print boarding passes and baggage storage.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I arrived at the hotel to be greeted by the receptionist arguing (loudly) with some residents. It then took half an hour to check in as they had lost my booking. It was later explained that this was my fault as I had only booked it the night before.

I then entered my room which was satisfactory (not 3-star worthy as I had been promised), the room had the very basics and did not provide towels. 10 minutes later, a man walked into my room without knocking. He said he would like to retrieve his bag from the cupboard. He gave no explanation as to why his bag was there in the first place.

Not a great stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This is a budget hotel but it appears to be connected to the larger hotel next door which was being decorated and upgraded. Free tea and coffee in rooms and breakfast was continental but plenty of choice. Steep stairs but lift. Staff helpful. Very good position on the canal and near shops, trams etc Room was clean and basic

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Hotel

Address: Leidsekade 85-86 | just off of the famous Leidseplein, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — King Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your King Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.