We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some service improvement” 3 of 5 stars
Review of King Hotel

Save Saved
You added King Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
King Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 85-86 | just off of the famous Leidseplein, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #239 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Needs some service improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

The main issue I noticed was the room service or the cleaning service , it is a worldwide hotel standard to knock the door three times before entering the room except in this hotel , they open the door and then say house keeping while they are walking into the room !
The room was ok , we expected a bit more for the price we paid however the location of the hotel is good
The check-in was rather slow however the receptionist was friendly and helpful

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    80
    86
    50
    29
See reviews for
12
133
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The hotel has a great location and is a good starting point if you are going to the center. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are relatively clean. This is all good that can be said. Our room was very small. So small you couldn't open the closet door because of the bed. The bed (they considered it a queen bed) was too small for two people and the mattress was too soft. At the end of our stay we wanted o print our tickets for our flights and they charged us 1euro per page, which I think is too much and a bit annoying consiering we are already guests of the hotel. If you decide to go to this hotel ask for the size of the room. Our friends were at a lower floor and their room was considerably bigger than ours.

Room Tip: All the rooms on top floor are very small. If you want a bigger room try second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

My new wife and I stayed at this hotel whilst touring Europe on our honeymoon - (when we mentioned this to the hotel we also recieved a very kind complimentary upgrade).

A nice small and charming hotel on the canal. We didn't arrive in Schipol until 6.45pm and arrived at the hotel about 7.15pm to a friendly and welcoming receptionist. Check in very easy and informative.
Free wifi and a good speed.

The room was a simple one. Double bed, cosy bathroom (shower only) and simple tea and coffee facilities. Bed had springs sticking out into the top of the mattress..but we found some additional duvets and placed these over the sheets which made it much more comfortable.

Breakfast included.
Served between 7am and 10am.
Very simple continental breakfast with a nice range of meats and cheeses, cereals, yoghurts and beverage.

A nice 2 min walk to restaurants and bars and clubs. Great sports bar around the corner with all you can eat ribs for 10euros.

Would stay again if a short stay in Amsterdam is required.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Very very pleased with this hotel. Helpful staff. Decent breakfast. Very clean room. Location was on the side street and a short tram journey to places was needed. Great value for money and would recommend for a short stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

The hotel was adequate but worn in places, the staff were friendly and helpful, the room a bit cramped but with a good high ceiling, we found it a little over-priced based on the quality and price of previous places we've stayed in Amsterdam.

It's in a good, central location, and wasn't noisy as the road wasn't busy (we were canal-side). On occasion we heard people talking in the street by the entrance, but it wasn't a problem.

The staff were friendly and helpful, and dealt efficiently with my request for a different mattress, replacing it on the second night of our two-night stay. (We had a double room with two single beds pushed together. My mattress had a line of hard metal sticking up in the middle of my back on the first night). I think this is a mark of their genuine care and good service.

Room was clean.

Wifi was adequate for our leisure purposes but kept logging us out so wouldn't be ideal for business use.

Luggage was stored for 3 Euros per suitcase on the day of our departure.

Restaurant we didn't use or see.

My partner booked the hotel based on website photos and description and was disappointed with size when we arrived. Having now looked online I think wide angle lens and warm lighting is used in photos, but that's not unusual and it was adequate overall!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Centrally situated and an easy tram ride from Amsterdam's main station, the King Hotel is a converted canalside house. Its rooms are small but clean, and the hotel is in a quiet street – yet it’s just three minutes from Leidseplein, with its busy nightlife, restaurants, bars and jazz clubs. It’s also within striking distance of the Rijksmuseum and the stunning Van Gogh Museum.

My only passing gripe was that breakfast was over by 9.30am – quite early if you’ve had a good evening the night before! An extra half-hour, to 10am (especially on a Sunday), would have made a civilised difference. That apart… yes, it was okay and I’d probably return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to King Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Hotel

Address: Leidsekade 85-86 | just off of the famous Leidseplein, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — King Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your King Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.