We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was best part” 3 of 5 stars
Review of King Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added King Hotel to your Saves list
King Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 85-86 | just off of the famous Leidseplein, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #251 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Stoke
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hotel was best part”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Couple aged 29 and 30……September 2013

Hotel: Hotel is situated a taxi ride (40euro) or train ride (20euro including tram) from the airport. Takes around 45 minutes. The hotel is very nice. The room is spacious with a TV however, the shower room is very small. The rooms are cleaned daily with fresh towels.

Nightlife: The nightlife is 3 minutes walk and is an area called Leidseplein this has bars and clubs and gets busier after 11pm. You can also go to another area called Rembrandtplein this has bars and clubs but is a taxi or tam ride away. The drinks are very expensive.

Restaurant: There are lots of restaurants and fast food places however they can be pricey. The fast food places in Leidseplein close at 4am.

Area: The area is very beautiful and nice buildings.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    76
    77
    46
    31
See reviews for
12
134
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights earlier this week. Great location for bars, restaurants and night life (2 minute walk), yet far enough away for it to be in a peaceful street. Museum district within walking distance, but there's also a tram system to take you wherever you need to go in Amsterdam. My room was very small, but it was warm, clean and comfortable. I was only using it to sleep in, so lounging around in my room all day was never going to be an issue. Quick, friendly check-in and check-out made this a great stay. I would definitely stay there again based on my recent experience.

Room Tip: My room was at the rear part of the hotel and it was as quiet as the grave
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I have seen some bad reviews of this hotel but I have to say my stay at the King Hotel was just fine. As a solo traveler the small room was all I needed, as I was basically just there to sleep, shower, and use the wifi, as well as have breakfast, which was nicely put together each morning. The King is in a great location. Walking distance to the Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum as well as being in a neighbourhood full of restaurants, shops, bars, and services. The staff was friendly and helpful. Amsterdam can be expensive but the King is a great deal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I have just come back from a 4 city trip (Berlin, Amsterdam, Brussels and Paris), and this was our choice when booking our stay. First of all, the location is perfect, near all restaurants, bars and tram stations. You got to keep in mind that this is an old building so there is no air conditioning and the steps are pretty steep, but that is just the architecture of the city, so embrace it. The people at the reception desk were always happy to help us out and very friendly. The star of the room was the bed. While our room was small, the bed was SO COMFY we didn't mind anything else. We slept like babies!!! Also, the hotel is at a cool street that doesn't have so much noise, great thing for restless sleepers like us. Definitively will return.

Tips for the hotel: you might want to make a sign to help people if they don't want their room cleaned. We left the hotel every single day to find our room cleaned, and while it was very cool, sometimes we wanted our stuff like it was. Also, you might think about bigger fans for the rooms, that way people would not complain so much about the heat (since we stayed in early autumn, we didn't have a problem with room temperature). Keep up the great work, King Hotel!

Room Tip: Our room was #4. No view of the canal, but who cares, you're in Amsterdam, GO OUTSIDE to see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

A group of guys were out in Amsterdam for a bachelor party and chose to stay at the King Hotel. The King Hotel is excellently located in the centre of the city, and the staff were very friendly, vibrant and helpful. They gave great recommendations on places to go for a bachelor weekend and were able to help arrange some small things for the groom-to-be. One of the friends got sick during our stay, and the hotel were both very accommodating and helpful. They arranged the necessaries to help our friend, whilst ensuring we were not inconvenienced. Thank you so much King Hotel!

Room Tip: Request a room facing the canalside during the summer months for extra breeze. Rooms facing the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The prices were very high for the terrible quality of the hotel. Personal were not helpful and we could´t live the lugagge the last day for a few hours before the flight!! The only good thing is the location. Not recommendable at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BookerAmsterdam, Manager at King Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Ms. Clara,

Please note that your feedback is very important for us.

We're sorry to hear that you were told that you couldn't leave your luggage with us, maybe you were informed this way because we have no space for this.

Could you please inform me more about the poor quality of the hotel. As i would like to know what you mean by that because we would like to act on it.

Looking forward hearing from you.

Mrs. Mehra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to King Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Hotel

Address: Leidsekade 85-86 | just off of the famous Leidseplein, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #251 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — King Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your King Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.