We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King Hotel

Save Saved
You added King Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
King Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 85-86 | just off of the famous Leidseplein, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #244 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

A group of guys were out in Amsterdam for a bachelor party and chose to stay at the King Hotel. The King Hotel is excellently located in the centre of the city, and the staff were very friendly, vibrant and helpful. They gave great recommendations on places to go for a bachelor weekend and were able to help arrange some small things for the groom-to-be. One of the friends got sick during our stay, and the hotel were both very accommodating and helpful. They arranged the necessaries to help our friend, whilst ensuring we were not inconvenienced. Thank you so much King Hotel!

Room Tip: Request a room facing the canalside during the summer months for extra breeze. Rooms facing the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    74
    77
    46
    29
See reviews for
12
133
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The prices were very high for the terrible quality of the hotel. Personal were not helpful and we could´t live the lugagge the last day for a few hours before the flight!! The only good thing is the location. Not recommendable at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BookerAmsterdam, Manager at King Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Ms. Clara,

Please note that your feedback is very important for us.

We're sorry to hear that you were told that you couldn't leave your luggage with us, maybe you were informed this way because we have no space for this.

Could you please inform me more about the poor quality of the hotel. As i would like to know what you mean by that because we would like to act on it.

Looking forward hearing from you.

Mrs. Mehra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Nice clean hotel, within walking distance of Amsterdam centre (10 / 15 mins.) Although only a few mins via tram ride. Great location, lots to see and do in Leidesplein, good coffee shops, comedy club, shops etc. Please bear in mind that this hotel is non smoking (if that is what your going to amsterdam for!) My biggest tip for travellers going to amsterdam for the first time to always be aware your personal belongings especially around centre of amsterdam, lots of pick pockets, especially in the red light district, only by chance seeing us being followed out of the corner of my eye that we wernt had!! No reflection on the dutch people or the hotel though,
Our room was in the roof, very nice, tv, en suite bathroom, good value for money, never had breakfast as we were never up in time lol x

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in December 2012. The hotel is very restricted inside as the stair cases are more like ladders , as is probably very typical in Amsterdam unfortunately the pictures on their website did not live up to expectations.

As we were in Amsterdam we did not spend much time in the room as we were out touring, just aswel really as the rooms were not very comfortable. There was building work going on outside the hotel and we had to step over pipers and building machinery to get to the from door of the hotel, was a little left down by this.

The only thing really that this hotel has going for it is the location as its close to all the main attractions in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerritos, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here for a week in June while visiting Amsterdam. Our room and bathroom were small, but adequate and typical for European hotels. The location was perfect- just a block from Leidseplein and a hub of tram lines and restaurants. They were renovating the breakfast room while we were there. We were apprehensive that it might be noisy, but it was quiet. It was a great base for touring the city

Room Tip: We asked for a room facing the canal. It was a great view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

For the price we have book this hotel, was the service and rooms oke.
An very nice place in amsterdam near het leidseplein and theater de la mar.
On het leidseplein you can go with the bus or tram to the city, trainstation, etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Hotel

Address: Leidsekade 85-86 | just off of the famous Leidseplein, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #244 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — King Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsNL and Otel so you can book your King Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.