We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here for the location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of King Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added King Hotel to your Saves list
King Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 85-86 | just off of the famous Leidseplein, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #252 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Limhamn, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stay here for the location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A small hotel, perfectly situated in Amsterdam. Near Leidseplein with all restaurants and bars. We walked every morning in Vondelpark, only a few minutes walk from the hotel. We chose to eat breakfast out, and there is a great place just around the corner next to the casino, called B&B lunchroom. Don't miss it! We had a very good room (number 10) with a balcony and a nice view over the canal. Small bathroom though. We would probably not stay here again. Mostly due to the staff I'm afraid. Some of them were not very serviceminded. And one thing is that there is a construction work going on right outside the door, but we never got that information when we booked. So the entrance is not very welcoming.

Room Tip: Number 10 is a nice room, with a balcony and a nice canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    76
    77
    46
    31
See reviews for
12
134
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

After a long flight from USA, I was so glad to find this hotel. I was in desperate need of a power nap and a refreshing shower!!! After a few hours of travelling, I was lucky to find this turely nice hotel in centre of Amsterdam.
As soon as I checked-in I noticed that the hotel looked very clean and the cleaning crew was busy tidying the rooms which made me feel at ease. When I came to my room and began to open the door I noticed the freshness in the air and the large windows made the light come through easily. Had a relaxing three day holiday and I will undoubtedly recommend this hotel room to anyone travelling.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This charming small hotel is located just off the main square - the Leidseplein.
Though there was some work in progress to the basement but this did not affect our lovely stay at the King hotel. The manageress was very kind, helpful and efficient. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will most certainly be back to stay again and share this experience with other friends this summer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We went for a couples break and the location near leiden square was great. Rooms have comfy beds and good showers. Reception area and doorway aren't the best but you dont spend much time there! Would stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We traveled here at the beginning of march. Me and my friend. Initially looking at the pictures i was terrified of staying at this place. But to be honest, im glad we did.
On arrival we had to go up some very steep stairs to reach the small narrow corridor to which reception was. The staff were friendly and helpful with very good English. TAKE NOTE... We had to pay a 20 euro deposit on our key cards which we got back at the end of our stay.
The stairs are terrable! VERY VERY steep! Never seen stairs like them!. But there is a lift! (on the first floor)
The room we got was lovely!! It had a balcony with a view of the canal. It was small but very bright and clean. The tv was of no use to us as it was all in Dutch. The shower room was very clean and new towels were supplied each morning.
There is also free wifi! :)
The breakfast was very plain. Just toast, ham, cheese, salami and cereal.
The location is brilliant! Very close to the nightlife in Dam square! But the hotel is in a very quiet area with no trouble sleeping. :)
Overall i would defiantly recommend staying here! Its very cheap! Pre book a canal view though! Defiantly worth it!

Room Tip: Get a canal view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

King Hotel Amsterdam is a very well located place. Just a 2 minutes walk from Leidseplein, where you can take tram (1, 2, 5) to Amsteram Centraal (15 minutes) or bus 197 to Schiphol Airport (40 minutes). The surroundings offer a variety of restaurants and bars with various price levels. A canal cruise boat stop near by is also a big advantage.

The first impression of the hotel could be strange. The entrance door are locked and you need to use the door phone to talk to the receptionist. After you walk in, a 11 step narrow and steep stairs are on your way. This can be frighting at the very beginning. The "hall" itself is simple but clean. After you check in you can use the elevator to get to your floor. One think that I was not aware of, is that they take 20EUR deposit on key cards you use to enter the hotel and your room. The shoe cleaning machine was located on the second floor.

My room number was 24 and it was on the 4th floor. It was a 5 sq meters single room. The room was equipped with: a kettle, a box of coffee, tea, sugar and creamers, a safe, table fan, tv, two chairs, two small tables and a Bible. The bathroom was also very small but sufficient for my needs. The hair-drier and fresh towel were provided by hotel. The shower cabin was OK, but narrow door for a big man like me were a huge problem :).

The view from my window was almost none. It was a view for another hotel window just 2 meters away.

Breakfast was a typical continental. Three varieties of bread, cheese, ham, salami and some other meat. Moreover, for sweet breakfast enthusiasts some variety of cereal, jams and sweet bread was provided. Orange juice, tea and instant coffee was available. The breakfast room is very small so sometimes you have to wait for your turn.

Summarising, I can recommend this hotel to people who can accept simple conditions and are able to carry their laguagge over these steep stairs. The location is brilliant as well as the connection to the airport. The staff is friendly and helpful. If you plan to leave your stuff there for a few hours after you check-out, you'd better take it somewhere else - Central Station for example (laguagge box costs 5.1 EUR per 24h). I was travelling alone and for me it was a really good place to stay. I'd be afraid of the air temperature inside the room in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Really good value for money. It’s kind of scary on the outside: shaddy door, no reception and SUPER SLOW elevator (be patient). But once inside the bedroom, all your fears go away: it was spacious, clean, with a big window and renovated toilet.

Besides, it’s hard to beat the location: central and with a direct bus to the airport.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first floor, because you'll hear all the people coming in and out of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Hotel

Address: Leidsekade 85-86 | just off of the famous Leidseplein, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #252 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — King Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your King Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.