We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HotDeal with Canal View was great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King Hotel

Save Saved
You added King Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
King Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 85-86 | just off of the famous Leidseplein, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #241 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Encinitas, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“HotDeal with Canal View was great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We had a great experience at King Hotel for one week in September. Room # 17 - hotdeal with canal view - exceeded our expectations. Balcony and large window opened onto canal; light and airy; comfy and clean double bed; maid service daily; modern bathroom; breakfast was always warm, fresh and plentiful. Staff spoke English very well and were very friendly. Secluded yet close to everything! Don't let poor reviews distract you. The best 2-star hotel I've ever seen.

Room Tip: Third floor outside rooms with balcony the best. Avoid the inside rooms which face toward each other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    73
    77
    46
    29
See reviews for
12
133
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Pros:

Very good buffet breakfast.
Helpful and nice management.
Very good location.

Cons:

Small rooms.
A bit on the dirty side.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed here only one night, although we had booked for four. This hotel has been upgraded from a hostel- but very poorly. It was far too expensive for what was offered and is misrepresented as chic. It was dirty, poorly run and the bathrooms were so tiny they were unusuable. The staff hardly spoke Dutch or English and they ask for cash upfront to prevent a 6% surcharge on your credit card. Stay away. There are lots of other wonderful hotels in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

King hotel has the sort of friendly staff you would hope to get to service you were ever you travel. Staying in hotel or airline you require attention and efficient service and help. That's exactly what you get at the King hotel.
Rooms are small but very comfortable and the hotel's location is simply great next to what ever you want to do in Amsterdam. Facilities are above par for this lovely 2 star hotel. A must stay hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

King Hotel is a very basic hotel with the bare essentials for a central stay to Leidsplein.

Service was fairly friendly and the receptionist went out of her way to accommodate an early check in. Arrived at this hotel at 11am and they juggled the rooms about to let us check in at 11.45am. Usual check in time is 3pm.

The room size is average while the on suite bathroom is tiny! The double room is actually made up of two single beds, which is a bit of an irritation.

The bathroom did not have a bathmat and when I enquired about this, I was given a regular towel to use as a bathmat as they don't have bathmats.

You have to pay a small deposit for the keys of the room, which is returned to you upon check out.

I wouldn't stay here again as the hotel was too expensive for the basic amenities provided, having said that the location is good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Me and my sis have booked a weekend package at the King Hotel and we accepted online unrefundable money . It was the worse think when we saw our room a small place not even for two person some filthy sheets on a small bed a tiny window facing some walls awfull bathroom . I understood why you could leave your bags downstairs for 6 euros or something. You have no space even for yourself! The receptionist lady kept saying : What are you expecting for a 2 stars hotel ?! What is wrong with the room ?
There are good things about the place also . As we start complainig and crying there the lady changed our room with a river view room. What a change ! Finely a decent place a douple room and.. we had a wardrobe normal bed small but clean bathroom a bit noisy tho but we didnt mind really. The location is excellent a few minutes walk to the centre .
Hope I could help. Good LUCK!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We had previously stayed in a hotel without an en suite so I was chuffed when we reached the King Hotel. It was in a great location, easy to find and close to Leidseplein. Room was comfortable enough but the view was terrible, could see straight into other rooms! Staff were friendly and the breakfast was sufficient. Would go back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Hotel

Address: Leidsekade 85-86 | just off of the famous Leidseplein, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #241 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — King Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL and Otel so you can book your King Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.