We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright - Good if you want to be close to museums.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of International Budget Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added International Budget Hostel to your Saves list
International Budget Hostel
Leidsegracht 76 | Grachtengordel, 1016 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Alright - Good if you want to be close to museums.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

It was very small, which is fine of you don't plan on spending much time there. Otherwise, don't count on decent Wifi (They said it was in the rooms, but could never get it to work). Service wasn't great - Front desk people were off-putting.

Also had unexpected 15 Euro deposit for key. Sort of infuriating when you're already short on cash. Make sure to have enough cash to cover deposit as well as the room fee or else they'll take on an extra 5% for a credit/debit card fee.

Rooms weren't bad, and beds strangely comfortable. Far from train station, but trams are easy to navigate. Again, good if you want to be close to museums or Vondlepark, but a hike from city centre or RLD if you plan on walking everywhere.

Probably wouldn't stay again, but it's cheap and in a safe neighborhood. Would recommend if you're out all day and just need a place to crash.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with StudentUniverse

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    19
    26
    13
    16
See reviews for
Families
0
6
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The rooms kinda suck but for a lousy hostel the "lobby" was ok to hangout.
Not so far from trams so that makes everything pretty close
The worst thing was in the room we had this "safe keeping" closet and there was nothing safe about it, rotten wood and it was concerning me the whole time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I stayed in IBH Amsterdam July 2013. It is a small, dark hostel with impractically steep steps (typical of Amsterdam). It has very basic amenities and is far too expensive for what it is. On the plus side, the location is rather good, and you will meet lots of friendly backpackers up for a good time. The showers worked, the toilets were clean, and the staff were helpful enough. I wouldn't come back here, but its name is at least honest.

Room Tip: The higher up the hostel, the better the view of Amsterdam. Try and get a South-facing room onto the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

From the outside this hostel looks quite nice, however it's very dark and miserable inside, not welcoming at all. Not clean and stinks of weed. They put as many beds in one room as they can and there is hardly any space to move around. The only good thing about it was that it's close to the centre, everything is within walking distance. You definitely pay for location and not a lot else!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reims, Champagne-Ardenne, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This hostel is situated in a great central location, about 8-10 mins by tram from the station, and within a 2 min walk to the main tourist street. The bathrooms and toilets were clean, as were the rooms. Smoking is permitted only in the terrace, but the smell does tend to permeate throughout the whole building. The stairs are shin-bangingly steep, so it helps to have a backpack and not a suitcase.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Arrived late and due to 'shift change' we waited 20 minutes to check in at which point the worker at the desk asked the other backpacker who arrived after us if he could check him in. Thankfully the backpacker was nice and let us check in first. The whole hostel reeks of weed, which is fine... But the horribly unclean bathrooms (urine on the floors) and bedbugs were the kicker. After spending one god-awful night in this hostel we fled (without a refund) to a reputable hotel far far away. Now, in the middle of our trip my girlfriend and I must visit a doctor, and find a way to clean all of our clothes so that we don't get more bites or spread the little devils elsewhere.

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOSTEL.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed at this hostel in October 2012, but was so filled with rage afterwards that I wanted to calm down for a while before writing this review. I can now calmly say: I have stayed in hostels all over Europe, and this is the worst. I paid in advance for 4 nights. After one night, I had hundreds of BEDBUG BITES on my arms and neck. The owners did not even apologize, and refused to give me a refund. I didn't want more bites, so I left; the owners wouldn't even refund the money for the nights I didn't stay there. Only visit this hellhole if you want to have a terrible time in Amsterdam, and want an unethical business to profit from your misfortune.

Room Tip: If you want a good room, book at a different hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to International Budget Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Budget Hostel

Address: Leidsegracht 76 | Grachtengordel, 1016 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your International Budget Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Budget Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International Budget Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.