We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, smells like pot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of International Budget Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added International Budget Hostel to your Saves list
International Budget Hostel
Leidsegracht 76 | Grachtengordel, 1016 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Reims, Champagne-Ardenne, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location, smells like pot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This hostel is situated in a great central location, about 8-10 mins by tram from the station, and within a 2 min walk to the main tourist street. The bathrooms and toilets were clean, as were the rooms. Smoking is permitted only in the terrace, but the smell does tend to permeate throughout the whole building. The stairs are shin-bangingly steep, so it helps to have a backpack and not a suitcase.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    19
    24
    12
    16
See reviews for
Families
0
6
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Arrived late and due to 'shift change' we waited 20 minutes to check in at which point the worker at the desk asked the other backpacker who arrived after us if he could check him in. Thankfully the backpacker was nice and let us check in first. The whole hostel reeks of weed, which is fine... But the horribly unclean bathrooms (urine on the floors) and bedbugs were the kicker. After spending one god-awful night in this hostel we fled (without a refund) to a reputable hotel far far away. Now, in the middle of our trip my girlfriend and I must visit a doctor, and find a way to clean all of our clothes so that we don't get more bites or spread the little devils elsewhere.

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOSTEL.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed at this hostel in October 2012, but was so filled with rage afterwards that I wanted to calm down for a while before writing this review. I can now calmly say: I have stayed in hostels all over Europe, and this is the worst. I paid in advance for 4 nights. After one night, I had hundreds of BEDBUG BITES on my arms and neck. The owners did not even apologize, and refused to give me a refund. I didn't want more bites, so I left; the owners wouldn't even refund the money for the nights I didn't stay there. Only visit this hellhole if you want to have a terrible time in Amsterdam, and want an unethical business to profit from your misfortune.

Room Tip: If you want a good room, book at a different hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Since returning to the UK I have discovered that the International Budget Hostel has tried to make a payment using my card details that I had used to book the hostel with. Luckily my bank spotted this and refused the payment, but it is a shame that there is fraudulent activity going on. Be careful guys! Had to cancel my card etc.
However, other than that issue there was a lovely friendly atmosphere in the smoking area and hostel. Fresh linen and good bunk beds (6 person room). Lockers, remember to bring your own padlock to lock things up. The doors of the hostel are quite loud and to you are frequently woken up by either late comers or early go-ers. Smoking room very friendly, sofa's and the fact there is a fridge and microwave available gives you flexibility. In terms of location it was a little further out of the centre than we initially thought.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

One of the worst hostels seen. The room was dirty and with the window broken. There was just one neon as light. The closet was completely unusable. The extern toilets were extremely small. The price is very high respect the services level. I asked a new place to sleep for my friend out of booking, the result is a mattress on the floor at full price.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wil SG
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Its well located, there are many clubs nearby (Jimmy Wuu, Paradiso etc.) and many restaurant. However the toilets are not clean, the lockers (waredrob) was not safe, one of lockers was broken, we asked them to repair it and after 5 days they havent done it. The internet didnt work and it took them 2 days to repair it. But its cheap and the beds are comfortable.

Room Tip: Room nr. 5, the bed next to the window, nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Not terribly happy with our stay. The staff were really short with us, and were inflexible. They also didn't seem to care about the business as they'd often ignore people at the front counter in favor of their own cell phones. The bathrooms usually had dried vomit in them, but the beds were comfortable enough. It's in a safe location as well. We really just needed a place to sleep but we'll definately look elsewhere before staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to International Budget Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Budget Hostel

Address: Leidsegracht 76 | Grachtengordel, 1016 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your International Budget Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Budget Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International Budget Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.