We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fraudulent activity made on card, but overall ok hostel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of International Budget Hostel

Save Saved
You added International Budget Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
and 2 more sites!
International Budget Hostel
Leidsegracht 76 | Grachtengordel, Amsterdam 1016 CR, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fraudulent activity made on card, but overall ok hostel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Since returning to the UK I have discovered that the International Budget Hostel has tried to make a payment using my card details that I had used to book the hostel with. Luckily my bank spotted this and refused the payment, but it is a shame that there is fraudulent activity going on. Be careful guys! Had to cancel my card etc.
However, other than that issue there was a lovely friendly atmosphere in the smoking area and hostel. Fresh linen and good bunk beds (6 person room). Lockers, remember to bring your own padlock to lock things up. The doors of the hostel are quite loud and to you are frequently woken up by either late comers or early go-ers. Smoking room very friendly, sofa's and the fact there is a fridge and microwave available gives you flexibility. In terms of location it was a little further out of the centre than we initially thought.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    16
    18
    9
    12
See reviews for
Families
0
6
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Padua, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

One of the worst hostels seen. The room was dirty and with the window broken. There was just one neon as light. The closet was completely unusable. The extern toilets were extremely small. The price is very high respect the services level. I asked a new place to sleep for my friend out of booking, the result is a mattress on the floor at full price.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wil SG
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Its well located, there are many clubs nearby (Jimmy Wuu, Paradiso etc.) and many restaurant. However the toilets are not clean, the lockers (waredrob) was not safe, one of lockers was broken, we asked them to repair it and after 5 days they havent done it. The internet didnt work and it took them 2 days to repair it. But its cheap and the beds are comfortable.

Room Tip: Room nr. 5, the bed next to the window, nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Not terribly happy with our stay. The staff were really short with us, and were inflexible. They also didn't seem to care about the business as they'd often ignore people at the front counter in favor of their own cell phones. The bathrooms usually had dried vomit in them, but the beds were comfortable enough. It's in a safe location as well. We really just needed a place to sleep but we'll definately look elsewhere before staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

It is a cheap hostel so don't expect much. As far as hostels go, this is a pretty nice one, just don't expect to shower. The shower was literaly three drops, and when another shower was in use it just stopped.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Absolute joke. Firstly we found a bag of what looked like cocaine under one of the beds,

Secondly we had to sleep next to wooden pillars that were infested with termites! Dont be fooled as to what they call "high security lockers"its a plank of wood with a bit of metal sticking out.

The showers were always cluttered with hair and pubes due to the hostel forcing us having to share 2 showers (in one cubicle by the way) between 10 people! never understood the point of the maids, they barged into our room and changed a teapot-sized empty bin every morning.

Dont bring suitcases! Also if you require wheelchair access you can give up any hopes of staying here as the stairs they have are completely vertical.

Enjoy the trek if you book this dump

peace x

Room Tip: Another hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunsan, South Korea
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Location was great, walking distance to everything, bike rentals for 15 euros a day Breakfast was not included, but was offered at a great price (less than 4 euros for eggs, toast and ham) and served til noon. Wifi was free, worked in the lobby area. we had the three room hostel, very very small, obvious rodent problem.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to International Budget Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Budget Hostel

Also Known As:
International Budget Hotel
International Budget Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Leidsegracht 76 | Grachtengordel, Amsterdam 1016 CR, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 169 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your International Budget Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International Budget Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.