We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average and satisfactory” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wilhelmina

Save Saved
You added Hotel Wilhelmina to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Wilhelmina
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Koninginneweg 169 | Museum Quarter, 1075 CN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 304 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
St. Petersburg, Russia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average and satisfactory”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Bike rental in the hotel. Bikes not very comfortable, but in good shape and just here.
Too expensive for that quality, but nothing really bad.
Cash deposit for the keycard is not fatal, but annoying.
WiFi access relatively complicated.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    33
    31
    9
    27
See reviews for
14
63
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Hotel Wilhelmina would soon become my favorite place to stay in Amsterdam when I go for leisure or for business. Location is very convenient right next to tram station, 5 minute walking distance to the park for a nice early morning jog. All of the staff members have been friendly and helpful. They make sure that I feel comfortable and well taken care of every time I asked for information or help. The manager was super nice and I sleep well even though I often struggling with jetlag, as the hotel has comfortable beds. Overall a nice lovely place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Went to Amsterdam recently for a short holiday, stayed in spacious twin room with plenty of room for 3 nights at hotel Wilhelmina. Tasteful contemporary decor, personal choice but we loved it. We were on the top floor with access via steep stairs. There's no lift. Not an issue for us but ask for ground or first floor if it is. Breakfast is good value with a wide choice of food buffet style. The staff are friendly and very professional (including email enquiries being responded to very quickly). Very nice neighbourhood within walking distance of Vondelpark. Easy tram journey in and out of town (tram 2 from Centraal Station).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I chose this hotel based upon my budget. I was not disappointed. We stayed for 4 nights in April 2014.

The hotel is located in a very convenient area to see the sights of Amsterdam. The tram station is outside next to the hotel but walking would certainly be encouraged as a short walk is the Vondelpark.

The hotel itself is very nice and I enjoyed my stay. Most certainly a boutique feel to the place. There is no lounge area but the reception is good.

The service at this property was great. They are helpful and can help arrange with small things to make your stay more enjoyable.

On our return to Amsterdam we will stay at this hotel. The manager was definitely the difference compared to some of the other hotels I have visited.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel and from the street and in the reception it does not inspire confidence, however when we got to our room we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms have been recently refurbished and are clean of sufficient size and have a large modern TV with English channels. Our room had a shower / wet room which was clean. The breakfast is extra but then there is a bakery just down the road. The hotel is a little way out beyond the Museumsplein but is well served by the number 2 tram straight into the heart of Amsterdam, a 3 day tram pass costs €16.50 after midnight it's a €10-15 taxi ride back from the nightlife. If you are looking for a decent budget hotel then look no further. My only slight moan would be you only get 1 room key which can be a nuisance if like me you where sharing a twin room.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We spent 3 nights at Hotel Wilhelmina earlier this month. It is a budget hotel - good location - regular trams to Amsterdam Centre. Be prepared to carry your luggage up very steep narrow stair case - we were on third floor. Bedroom walls are very thin - breakfast ok but nothing special. Tinned fruit, not fresh. Shower/toilet floor gets very wet as it is 'level access' shower with nothing to contain the water in the shower area. No dry mat to stand on - easy to slip.

Room Tip: There were some rooms on the ground floor - possibly these may be noisier if guests come in late at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We had prepaid for our stay via a tour company, so were surprised to be asked to pay 20euros (refundable) per room for 'key deposit', and 5euros per room per night 'room tax', before we could register. (Also, there is a sign indicating that 'left luggage' attracts a 3euro per item charge). A bad start, BUT - this hotel is located along the no. 2 tram route about 100m from a stop (buy a travel pass from the tourist information office near Central Station), and this passes Museumplein and the Royal Palace on its way to central Amsterdam. Close to Vondelpark. There are plenty of reasonable restaurants within 20 minutes walk, or in the museum area. So, apart from the bad start, this is a good location for visiting the major museums. The staff were pleasant and helpful, and the breakfast acceptable.

Room Tip: The hotel is located in a traditional Amsterdam town house, so the stairs are narrow and steep. If t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Wilhelmina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wilhelmina

Address: Koninginneweg 169 | Museum Quarter, 1075 CN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 304 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Wilhelmina 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Wilhelmina is a pleasant and charming, Superior 2 Star Hotel. Most of our large comfortable rooms have Private Facilities - Shower & Toilet, Colour Cable TV, Direct Dial Telephone etc. Hotel is centrally located within walking distance (12-15 minutes) of main Museums, Concert Hall & the Vondelpark and near the RAI Exhibition Centre, World Trade & Fashion Centre. The efficient management, inspired by great hospitality, will do all to enhance the pleasure and comfort of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Wilhelmina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilhelmina Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wilhelmina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;