We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting Amsterdam for the museums” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wilhelmina

Save Saved
You added Hotel Wilhelmina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Wilhelmina
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Koninginneweg 169 | Museum Quarter, 1075 CN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 303 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Visiting Amsterdam for the museums”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We had prepaid for our stay via a tour company, so were surprised to be asked to pay 20euros (refundable) per room for 'key deposit', and 5euros per room per night 'room tax', before we could register. (Also, there is a sign indicating that 'left luggage' attracts a 3euro per item charge). A bad start, BUT - this hotel is located along the no. 2 tram route about 100m from a stop (buy a travel pass from the tourist information office near Central Station), and this passes Museumplein and the Royal Palace on its way to central Amsterdam. Close to Vondelpark. There are plenty of reasonable restaurants within 20 minutes walk, or in the museum area. So, apart from the bad start, this is a good location for visiting the major museums. The staff were pleasant and helpful, and the breakfast acceptable.

Room Tip: The hotel is located in a traditional Amsterdam town house, so the stairs are narrow and steep. If t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    37
    35
    11
    30
See reviews for
13
63
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Although the people at the hotel were nice and friendly, the service was poor to non existent. i think any hostel has more service than this hotel. I would not recommend this hotel if you value hotel services.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Was perfectly adequate for what we paid which was 80gbp for 2 nights for me and my girlfriend without breakfast as we prefer to eat out. The room was basic with a little flat screen tv on the wall which actually screened the united Leverkusen game in English as well as lots of other English channels. We only stayed here for 2 nights but the room was cleaned and the bed made on the middle day so I assume this is done daily. Overall good and me and my girlfriend walked from here into the town centre twice daily so it is not far away and is a much better option on a budget than the dirty places in the actual main city. Staff do not speak much but what they did say was polite and they gave us vouchers for free deserts with our meals at Hard Rock Cafe

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjerkreim
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had a pre-ordered, 50 % pre-paid group reservation. The hotel staff would not let us enter the rooms before we had paid the full amount up-front, and since there was a 6 % surcharge on any credit card payment, we had to pay in cash. (I wonder why...?). In addition, we had to pay a 20 EURO deposit for the card key. Also, the safe in the rooms had a deposit AND a 15 EURO charge.
Generally, the hotel seemed to be worn and lacked maintenance. Since we were in Amsterdam to run marathon, the traffic noise didn't ruin our sleep (at least not after the marathon). The breakfast was not so bad, but usually we have a better selection of foods at home.

My general impression is that this hotel should not call itself a hotel. It seemed to lack any aspiration to give good service. I suppose that they have had a lot of customers that didn't pay since everything had to be paid in advance, but really I think the hotel would be better off if standards were raised, so that satisfied customers would return.

I will not.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed for three nights. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. It was out of city centre but in an extremely nice area of Amsterdam and very easy to get into the centre on the No 2 Tram!
The hotel was clean and tidy and the rooms adequate. The stairs were extremely steep and there is no lift. We were in the front room and so heard the traffic outside.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor, stairs very steep and hard to climb especially with suitcases!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Room was a decent size with very comfortable beds ( 2 singles pushed together as a double ). Very clean but could do with a lick of paint, as could the stairway. Modern refurbished bathroom with wet room shower. Our room faced the main road but no noise during the night.

Breakfast was fine - selection of cereals, fruit salad, boiled eggs, ham, cheese, various breads, juices, tea, coffee. Everything is self service. There is a toaster as well. There are only 4 or 6 seater tables so be prepared to sit with other guests.

Staff are very pleasant and helpful.

The hotel is 2 minute walk from a tram stop - line 2 from the centre and takes 10-15 mins. As for the immediate vicinity, there is a nice bar a minute's walk to the left as you exit the hotel with outside seating and a heated area. Also a very good tapas restaurant further down on the other side of the road ( we dined there twice ). If you carry on down the extra few metres to Amsteelenweg and turn right there is a small supermarket open till 9-10 pm and several bars/restaurants

This was our 3rd visit to Amsterdam and, although the furthest out of the centre we've stayed, this was by far the best value hotel we've stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Wilhelmina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wilhelmina

Address: Koninginneweg 169 | Museum Quarter, 1075 CN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 303 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Wilhelmina 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Wilhelmina is a pleasant and charming, Superior 2 Star Hotel. Most of our large comfortable rooms have Private Facilities - Shower & Toilet, Colour Cable TV, Direct Dial Telephone etc. Hotel is centrally located within walking distance (12-15 minutes) of main Museums, Concert Hall & the Vondelpark and near the RAI Exhibition Centre, World Trade & Fashion Centre. The efficient management, inspired by great hospitality, will do all to enhance the pleasure and comfort of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Wilhelmina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilhelmina Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wilhelmina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.