We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good low cost hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wilhelmina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Wilhelmina to your Saves list
Hotel Wilhelmina
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Koninginneweg 169 | Museum Quarter, 1075 CN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good low cost hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Was perfectly adequate for what we paid which was 80gbp for 2 nights for me and my girlfriend without breakfast as we prefer to eat out. The room was basic with a little flat screen tv on the wall which actually screened the united Leverkusen game in English as well as lots of other English channels. We only stayed here for 2 nights but the room was cleaned and the bed made on the middle day so I assume this is done daily. Overall good and me and my girlfriend walked from here into the town centre twice daily so it is not far away and is a much better option on a budget than the dirty places in the actual main city. Staff do not speak much but what they did say was polite and they gave us vouchers for free deserts with our meals at Hard Rock Cafe

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    35
    33
    10
    29
See reviews for
14
66
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bjerkreim
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had a pre-ordered, 50 % pre-paid group reservation. The hotel staff would not let us enter the rooms before we had paid the full amount up-front, and since there was a 6 % surcharge on any credit card payment, we had to pay in cash. (I wonder why...?). In addition, we had to pay a 20 EURO deposit for the card key. Also, the safe in the rooms had a deposit AND a 15 EURO charge.
Generally, the hotel seemed to be worn and lacked maintenance. Since we were in Amsterdam to run marathon, the traffic noise didn't ruin our sleep (at least not after the marathon). The breakfast was not so bad, but usually we have a better selection of foods at home.

My general impression is that this hotel should not call itself a hotel. It seemed to lack any aspiration to give good service. I suppose that they have had a lot of customers that didn't pay since everything had to be paid in advance, but really I think the hotel would be better off if standards were raised, so that satisfied customers would return.

I will not.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed for three nights. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. It was out of city centre but in an extremely nice area of Amsterdam and very easy to get into the centre on the No 2 Tram!
The hotel was clean and tidy and the rooms adequate. The stairs were extremely steep and there is no lift. We were in the front room and so heard the traffic outside.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor, stairs very steep and hard to climb especially with suitcases!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Room was a decent size with very comfortable beds ( 2 singles pushed together as a double ). Very clean but could do with a lick of paint, as could the stairway. Modern refurbished bathroom with wet room shower. Our room faced the main road but no noise during the night.

Breakfast was fine - selection of cereals, fruit salad, boiled eggs, ham, cheese, various breads, juices, tea, coffee. Everything is self service. There is a toaster as well. There are only 4 or 6 seater tables so be prepared to sit with other guests.

Staff are very pleasant and helpful.

The hotel is 2 minute walk from a tram stop - line 2 from the centre and takes 10-15 mins. As for the immediate vicinity, there is a nice bar a minute's walk to the left as you exit the hotel with outside seating and a heated area. Also a very good tapas restaurant further down on the other side of the road ( we dined there twice ). If you carry on down the extra few metres to Amsteelenweg and turn right there is a small supermarket open till 9-10 pm and several bars/restaurants

This was our 3rd visit to Amsterdam and, although the furthest out of the centre we've stayed, this was by far the best value hotel we've stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel is exactly what a decent 2 or even 3 star should be. Nothing fancy. Nothing flashy. It is clean and has just enough amenitites to be comfortable. The staff and manager are all very helpful and efficient. The breakfast was of a decent standard. This is not a 5 or 4 star hotel, but nor does it claim to be, infact it can get higher ratings. The room was perfect for us as it had 2 proper single beds. The shower was fine and as we had a newly refurbished room everything was fresh and clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Recently visited Amsterdam again, one of my favourite cites and stayed in Hotel Wilhelmina. Must say was surprised with the lovely room that was allocated for us and the great service we received from the hotel manager. For the price we paid this was far beyond our expectation. Will visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I have seen many hotels, B§Bs and backpackers in the Netherlands. I must say that this one was one of the best. All the staff working there are very profesional and treat you with care. I asked lot of question to front desk about main places to visit in city and they help me a lot about that. They suggested me very economical way to visit and that really helped me. The rooms were small but clean and nice. The entire staff were very helpful. I think this is the one of the best hotel i have ever stayed. Very economical and convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Wilhelmina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wilhelmina

Address: Koninginneweg 169 | Museum Quarter, 1075 CN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Wilhelmina 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Wilhelmina is a pleasant and charming, Superior 2 Star Hotel. Most of our large comfortable rooms have Private Facilities - Shower & Toilet, Colour Cable TV, Direct Dial Telephone etc. Hotel is centrally located within walking distance (12-15 minutes) of main Museums, Concert Hall & the Vondelpark and near the RAI Exhibition Centre, World Trade & Fashion Centre. The efficient management, inspired by great hospitality, will do all to enhance the pleasure and comfort of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Wilhelmina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilhelmina Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wilhelmina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.