We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very decent 2 star hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wilhelmina

Save Saved
You added Hotel Wilhelmina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Wilhelmina
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Koninginneweg 169 | Museum Quarter, 1075 CN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #162 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A very decent 2 star hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel is exactly what a decent 2 or even 3 star should be. Nothing fancy. Nothing flashy. It is clean and has just enough amenitites to be comfortable. The staff and manager are all very helpful and efficient. The breakfast was of a decent standard. This is not a 5 or 4 star hotel, but nor does it claim to be, infact it can get higher ratings. The room was perfect for us as it had 2 proper single beds. The shower was fine and as we had a newly refurbished room everything was fresh and clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    33
    31
    9
    27
See reviews for
14
63
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Recently visited Amsterdam again, one of my favourite cites and stayed in Hotel Wilhelmina. Must say was surprised with the lovely room that was allocated for us and the great service we received from the hotel manager. For the price we paid this was far beyond our expectation. Will visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I have seen many hotels, B§Bs and backpackers in the Netherlands. I must say that this one was one of the best. All the staff working there are very profesional and treat you with care. I asked lot of question to front desk about main places to visit in city and they help me a lot about that. They suggested me very economical way to visit and that really helped me. The rooms were small but clean and nice. The entire staff were very helpful. I think this is the one of the best hotel i have ever stayed. Very economical and convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Hotel right on the number 2 tramline, running directly from Grand central train station. Very convenient. Far enough away from the night time hustle and bustle to sleep well, close enough to get into the Dam in about 5 minutes! Comfortable beds, simple breakfast ( more choice would be good) and very steep stairs, so not suitable for people who can't manage stairs well! Hotel on 3 floors, rooms nice and warm, bedding very clean, as are the bathrooms. Towels, hair dryer, room safe, tv all provided. Check in a little late (3pm), and check out at 11am. €20 key deposit, you get this back when you leave. To leave luggage there after check out whilst you hang around for light is €3 per bag, which is cheaper than the lockers at central station (€7.95). Just means going back out to the hotel to collect, but with such a convenient tram line, it doesn't matter. No time restraints on what times you come and go, you have a front door key. There's a drinks and snack machine in the entrance, so if you return thirsty or snacky, it's really convenient! Great hotel on a budget, I'd describe it more of an old fashioned B&B, but lovely staff, great location, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We would return to this hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Was very a happy apart from a couple of details.
The check in time is 3pm, after a 7am flight from the uk with very little sleep the night before, this was somewhat of an inconvinience. The same goes for the check out time (11am) I felt after a late night out partying in Amsterdam, 11am was far to early to have be out of the room (again had to wait 12 hours for my return flight after checking out.
Other than that I was very impressed by the condition of the room, and definetley was a lot better than I expected for the budget price of the room. Only downside was the bathroom is a wet room. And the drains appeared to be blocked. There forth turning the bathroom into a small lake. Which still hadnt completely drained at the time of checkout after showering the day before.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Was expecting a budget hotel when visited with a friend in mid July. The hotel was easy to find, the staff were friendly and the location was brilliant (if you want to take a break from the centre). Just a 20 second walk from the Valerusplein tram stop. The best thing about the hotel was the beds, total comfort from as soon as you lie down!! The shower/wet room in our room was also very modern and practical, far nicer than the bathrooms i've been faced with in similar trips to Europe with friends!!

Would definitely stay here again,and recommend it highly to anyone visiting the city!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Wilhelmina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wilhelmina

Address: Koninginneweg 169 | Museum Quarter, 1075 CN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Wilhelmina 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Wilhelmina is a pleasant and charming, Superior 2 Star Hotel. Most of our large comfortable rooms have Private Facilities - Shower & Toilet, Colour Cable TV, Direct Dial Telephone etc. Hotel is centrally located within walking distance (12-15 minutes) of main Museums, Concert Hall & the Vondelpark and near the RAI Exhibition Centre, World Trade & Fashion Centre. The efficient management, inspired by great hospitality, will do all to enhance the pleasure and comfort of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Wilhelmina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilhelmina Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wilhelmina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.