We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wilhelmina

Save Saved
You added Hotel Wilhelmina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Wilhelmina
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Koninginneweg 169 | Museum Quarter, 1075 CN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #167 of 305 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
West Midlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Hotel right on the number 2 tramline, running directly from Grand central train station. Very convenient. Far enough away from the night time hustle and bustle to sleep well, close enough to get into the Dam in about 5 minutes! Comfortable beds, simple breakfast ( more choice would be good) and very steep stairs, so not suitable for people who can't manage stairs well! Hotel on 3 floors, rooms nice and warm, bedding very clean, as are the bathrooms. Towels, hair dryer, room safe, tv all provided. Check in a little late (3pm), and check out at 11am. €20 key deposit, you get this back when you leave. To leave luggage there after check out whilst you hang around for light is €3 per bag, which is cheaper than the lockers at central station (€7.95). Just means going back out to the hotel to collect, but with such a convenient tram line, it doesn't matter. No time restraints on what times you come and go, you have a front door key. There's a drinks and snack machine in the entrance, so if you return thirsty or snacky, it's really convenient! Great hotel on a budget, I'd describe it more of an old fashioned B&B, but lovely staff, great location, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We would return to this hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    33
    31
    9
    28
See reviews for
14
63
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Was very a happy apart from a couple of details.
The check in time is 3pm, after a 7am flight from the uk with very little sleep the night before, this was somewhat of an inconvinience. The same goes for the check out time (11am) I felt after a late night out partying in Amsterdam, 11am was far to early to have be out of the room (again had to wait 12 hours for my return flight after checking out.
Other than that I was very impressed by the condition of the room, and definetley was a lot better than I expected for the budget price of the room. Only downside was the bathroom is a wet room. And the drains appeared to be blocked. There forth turning the bathroom into a small lake. Which still hadnt completely drained at the time of checkout after showering the day before.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Was expecting a budget hotel when visited with a friend in mid July. The hotel was easy to find, the staff were friendly and the location was brilliant (if you want to take a break from the centre). Just a 20 second walk from the Valerusplein tram stop. The best thing about the hotel was the beds, total comfort from as soon as you lie down!! The shower/wet room in our room was also very modern and practical, far nicer than the bathrooms i've been faced with in similar trips to Europe with friends!!

Would definitely stay here again,and recommend it highly to anyone visiting the city!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

After a pleasure trip to Amsterdam in March, I have returned to Amsterdam for a Graphic Artists’ conference. I was recommended the Wilhelmina Hotel by its sister hotel – the Atlas Hotel – after finding out that they were booked for my planned time in Amsterdam. Irrespective of which, the Wilhelmina hotel is, simply put, MARVELOUS! I am having an extremely enjoyable stay. The owner has provided me with the best service of any hotel I had ever stayed at. He is extremely friendly, conversational and most hospitable. Though I am here for work, he recommended a variety of fun evening-based activities for me to try, which nicely concluded my trip with a sense of work-life-balance. Moreover, the hotel is placed in the heart of the chic Oud Zuid! It was IDEALLY situated! It made getting around extremely easy and added an extra pleasure to my already wonderful trip. Thank you Wilhelmina Hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Having already spent two nights in their sister hotel, Wilhelmina Hotel, I had attained some expectations from King Hotel in regard to quality, service level and overall satisfaction given my excellent stay at Wilhelmina hotel! Sure enough, I was not disappointed! King Hotel is an excellent choice of hotel and would strongly recommend to any travellers visiting Amsterdam! Rooms were very tastefully decorated. I was fortunate to stay in a canal-facing room, which was really lovely, and in spite of the vibrant nature of the city-centre (the hotel is down the street from Leidseplein); I still got good nights’ rests. Just as at Wilhelmina, the staff was kind, helpful and cheerful. It was a lovely treat being greeted both mornings by their smiles! Strongly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ansfelden, Austria
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I am a frequent traveler but never before did I encounter a mouse in my hotel room.
During the night I heard strange nouses when I switchen on the lights to look for the reason of the noises I saw a mouse sitting on the table in the middle of my food stuff! I was so shocked!!!
I did not expect a mouse in a middle class hotel room in middle europe! And the offer breakfast at the hotel. It can only be expected that there are mice too, where they keep the food stuff.
When I told the reception they where not surprised. I got another room ond another tourist got my room and the mouse. The next room was on the second floor and during heavy rain water leaked in through the ceiling!!
The walls are paper thin and you could easily follow a conversation in the next room.
The personal is very nice and helpful but that does not help with mice in a hotel room in central europe.One expects mice in a third world hovel but not in central europe in an expensive middle class hotel.
To book this hotel you have to pay in advance by credit card. I payed nearly 1000 Euro for 8 nights and thats simply shameless when you consider the mouse in the room and the leaking ceiling.I am not spoiled but I expect a certain sanitary standard which does not include mice.

Room Tip: dont stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Wilhelmina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wilhelmina

Address: Koninginneweg 169 | Museum Quarter, 1075 CN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Wilhelmina 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Wilhelmina is a pleasant and charming, Superior 2 Star Hotel. Most of our large comfortable rooms have Private Facilities - Shower & Toilet, Colour Cable TV, Direct Dial Telephone etc. Hotel is centrally located within walking distance (12-15 minutes) of main Museums, Concert Hall & the Vondelpark and near the RAI Exhibition Centre, World Trade & Fashion Centre. The efficient management, inspired by great hospitality, will do all to enhance the pleasure and comfort of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Wilhelmina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilhelmina Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wilhelmina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.