We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wilhelmina

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Wilhelmina
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Koninginneweg 169 | Museum Quarter, Amsterdam 1075 CN, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #156 of 297 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Was expecting a budget hotel when visited with a friend in mid July. The hotel was easy to find, the staff were friendly and the location was brilliant (if you want to take a break from the centre). Just a 20 second walk from the Valerusplein tram stop. The best thing about the hotel was the beds, total comfort from as soon as you lie down!! The shower/wet room in our room was also very modern and practical, far nicer than the bathrooms i've been faced with in similar trips to Europe with friends!!

Would definitely stay here again,and recommend it highly to anyone visiting the city!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    34
    32
    11
    30
See reviews for
13
59
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

After a pleasure trip to Amsterdam in March, I have returned to Amsterdam for a Graphic Artists’ conference. I was recommended the Wilhelmina Hotel by its sister hotel – the Atlas Hotel – after finding out that they were booked for my planned time in Amsterdam. Irrespective of which, the Wilhelmina hotel is, simply put, MARVELOUS! I am having an extremely enjoyable stay. The owner has provided me with the best service of any hotel I had ever stayed at. He is extremely friendly, conversational and most hospitable. Though I am here for work, he recommended a variety of fun evening-based activities for me to try, which nicely concluded my trip with a sense of work-life-balance. Moreover, the hotel is placed in the heart of the chic Oud Zuid! It was IDEALLY situated! It made getting around extremely easy and added an extra pleasure to my already wonderful trip. Thank you Wilhelmina Hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Having already spent two nights in their sister hotel, Wilhelmina Hotel, I had attained some expectations from King Hotel in regard to quality, service level and overall satisfaction given my excellent stay at Wilhelmina hotel! Sure enough, I was not disappointed! King Hotel is an excellent choice of hotel and would strongly recommend to any travellers visiting Amsterdam! Rooms were very tastefully decorated. I was fortunate to stay in a canal-facing room, which was really lovely, and in spite of the vibrant nature of the city-centre (the hotel is down the street from Leidseplein); I still got good nights’ rests. Just as at Wilhelmina, the staff was kind, helpful and cheerful. It was a lovely treat being greeted both mornings by their smiles! Strongly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ansfelden, Austria
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I am a frequent traveler but never before did I encounter a mouse in my hotel room.
During the night I heard strange nouses when I switchen on the lights to look for the reason of the noises I saw a mouse sitting on the table in the middle of my food stuff! I was so shocked!!!
I did not expect a mouse in a middle class hotel room in middle europe! And the offer breakfast at the hotel. It can only be expected that there are mice too, where they keep the food stuff.
When I told the reception they where not surprised. I got another room ond another tourist got my room and the mouse. The next room was on the second floor and during heavy rain water leaked in through the ceiling!!
The walls are paper thin and you could easily follow a conversation in the next room.
The personal is very nice and helpful but that does not help with mice in a hotel room in central europe.One expects mice in a third world hovel but not in central europe in an expensive middle class hotel.
To book this hotel you have to pay in advance by credit card. I payed nearly 1000 Euro for 8 nights and thats simply shameless when you consider the mouse in the room and the leaking ceiling.I am not spoiled but I expect a certain sanitary standard which does not include mice.

Room Tip: dont stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I searched diligently for several weeks, for a reputable, two-star hotel, in a good location, that also included breakfast, in Amsterdam.The only negative comments from previous guests, were about the bad coffee. I booked the hotel for my daughter and I - 4 nights.
Positives:
1. Friendly, cordial, helpful, efficient, English speaking staff
2. A TRUE two star, "budget," affordable, hotel
3. Clean rooms, comfortable beds and helpful housecleaning staff
4. Sufficient linens (except for washcloths - take your own)
5. Adequate, tasty, all you can eat breakfast, the coffee was good
6. Luggage storage available
7. Early check-in was allowed
8. PERFECT location - 20 minutes on the tram, to Central Station, and economical - 2.50 e.
Negatives:
1. Stairs - unbelievable - the adjacent, building to the 3rd floor had 50 + steps, that were narrow, twisted, tapered
2. Not all rooms are equal, - try them on for "size" like Goldilocks, or you will be unhappy - the "too small", front rooms that face the street, are "noisey"; cigarette smoke drifts up to your open, unscreened window, the "combo" bath, has a "sewer" smell, from the floor drain, and you bang your knees on furniture and suitcases. ( Varmints may visit you during the night too and share your snacks from the open window!)
* Just ask for room # 12 - 3rd floor, back of the building, nice size - comfortable bed, large bath, and Wi-Fi works!
* Getting to hotel from Schipol: Take the bus - the Terminal Info desk will give you great instructions - take your carry ons, and walk about 10 minutes when you get off the bus. Economical - get correct coins, about 2.50 e.
* Getting back to Schipol: Take tram #2 - 2.80 e. - get off at Central Station - and take the train - about 4.50 e.

Room Tip: Back side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

An experience to Amsterdam was one I'd been looking forward to for a long time. However, everyone kept scaring me on how unfriendly or unhelpful the Dutch can be. Though a slight deterent, I still persevered as a traveller and went to Amsterdam. To my genuine good fortune, I came across Wilhelmina Hotel and saw my prejudices on Dutch service destroyed day by day. Such facilitating, helpful, kind-smiled and welcoming staff greeted me daily and genuinely tracked my trip. They kept up with my endeavours and advised me well on places and sights to see, and even a few local eats to venture down to. Really enjoyed the hotel. I booked with Wilhemina again for my second stay.

Room Tip: Streetside rooms have a pleasant "Amsterdam City Life" feel to them..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Wilhelmina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wilhelmina

Also Known As:
Wilhelmina Hotel Amsterdam
Wilhelmina Hotel
Address: Koninginneweg 169 | Museum Quarter, Amsterdam 1075 CN, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 297 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Wilhelmina 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Wilhelmina is a pleasant and charming, Superior 2 Star Hotel. Most of our large comfortable rooms have Private Facilities - Shower & Toilet, Colour Cable TV, Direct Dial Telephone etc. Hotel is centrally located within walking distance (12-15 minutes) of main Museums, Concert Hall & the Vondelpark and near the RAI Exhibition Centre, World Trade & Fashion Centre. The efficient management, inspired by great hospitality, will do all to enhance the pleasure and comfort of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Wilhelmina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wilhelmina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Wilhelmina to your Saves list