We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel in Amsterdam with great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Internationaal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Internationaal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Internationaal
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Warmoesstraat 1 - 3 | Old Side: Red Light District, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #120 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Davis, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Budget hotel in Amsterdam with great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at the Hotel Internationaal in mid-September, 2010.

Room size:
Small but big enough. The room contained a bed for two, a sink, a wardrobe, and a desk.

Cleanliness:
The room and bathroom were clean. Since smoking is allowed in the rooms there is a definite strong marijuana odor. The 2nd story room is nice since you can leave the windows open to air it out.

Bathroom:
Bedroom has a sink with mirror. The single shared toilet on our floor was in its own small wc. The shared shower is in its own room. The shower room has only one shower but is large enough for multiple people to fit if you want to save time ;-). The shower room is lockable so you basically are showering in a private room. Great water pressure and plenty of warm water.

Location:
This hotel is in a great location above a bar. It is maybe a 5-minute walk from the main train station (though it took us about 30-minutes because we got lost so pay attention!). The hotel is right on the edge of the red light district as shown by the red lights that pop up out of the ground right in front of the hotel at night. We did not take any public transportation while in Amsterdam. We walked everywhere (Anne Frank House, Van Gogh Museum, etc.) in roughly 30-minutes.

Miscellaneous:
Stairs up to the rooms are very steep, almost vertical. Since the hotel is above a bar, you check in with the bartender (who was very nice). Annoying alarm would beep in the hallway every time we would exit our room at night to use the bathroom but it would turn off after a few seconds. Free wifi. Not easy to find a spot to hang a clothesline in the room if you are doing laundry in the sink. Noise from the bar/street below was as we expected and not too bad.

Summary:
I recommend this hotel for budget-minded travelers who want a clean, conveniently-located place in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    53
    33
    10
    9
See reviews for
12
61
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Skien, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

The location is fantastic!
Low price, clean and deasant rooms.
Perfect!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Internationaal in June this year - our first time in Amsterdam. This hotel is conveniently located as a base to explore all of Amsterdam's tourist sites - including the red light district. It is a very short walk from the train/bus terminal and easy to find.

Staff were very friendly and welcoming - helping us with tourist maps, etc.
Basic accommodation but secure enough - all you need in amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brest, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

I absolutely loved this hotel! The staff was amazing and so welcoming and helpful. The patrons of the bar were nice as well. One of them even helped us with our luggage up the infamously steep stairs. The location is perfect if you are arriving by train as it is barely a 10 minute walk away and you can easily make your way around by foot to see many of the museums, shop the nine streets and see the red light district since its right around the corner. If you dont want to grab a drink downstairs there are plenty of bars in the immediate area and a ton of places to eat as well.

The room was simple, clean and comfortable. It was a bit on the small side, but this is to be expected. We chose a room that shared a toilet and shower. Both were very clean as well. The room had no a/c, but again this isn't foreign for low budget European hotels. With the window open the temp was just fine. There is a computer downstairs in the bar with interent that is free to use. There is free wifi as well. You just have to ask for the password.

Yes, there is a lot of noise night and day, but you have to remember where you are staying. This is definitely a no frills hotel but it has a lot of character, the price was great and again, the staff was just fabulous.

I wouldnt recommend this hotel for families with young children or those who are looking for a peaceful getaway, but if you are on a budget and don't need all the extra amenities then I highly recommend coming here. I would come back to this place in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night before travelling to a music festival 200 miles south of Amsterdam. The location is excellent, right on the corner of the red light district so close to lots of bars & coffee shops and you're within walking distance of most attractions (apart from museum district). If you only want the hotel to get your hed down on a night then its fine but not great. We were in the attic room which was a decent size but a bit of a dump. I would expect to pay about £50 for a room like this so 80 Euros was a bit much, but that is quite cheap for Amsterdam i suppose. All in all, if you're not fussy about the hotel and you only want it to sleep & shower then this hotel is for you,it probably is value for money for Amsterdam standards but defintiely expensive for what it is

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

For a few days in Amsterdam this place is spot on. The bar is great and the staff are great - they also seem to make up a large part of the customer base when they are not working!
Rooms and stairs are typical of central Amsterdam - it is why you come to places like this - to experience the difference. Just enjoy it! Ensuite room had a quirky layout and was cleaned every day. Swipe card access to rooms and also swipe card access to accomodation via separate street door, if preferred. Security camera at base of magnificently precipitous staircase. With regard to other reviewers comments on the staircase - I have a screwed up leg and I coped with little difficulty (but lots of hilarity).
We were two couples in our late 40's/50's and this is our third trip to Amsterdam in the last 10 years. Without doubt, we would return here. Bars & restaurants on doorstep, boat trips/ canal bus/ trains, less than 5 minutes walk. We loved the place and it's lively, happy, atmosphere.
My wife used the provided ear plugs but the problem is not in-house. It is more to do with the acoustics of the narrow streets. I did not need them, nor did our friends.
If you are a bit precious, then there are things to whine about.
If you are a normal well adjusted traveller - you will smile and enjoy it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

The entire staff of hotel and pub were extremely helpful and friendly! Helped us sort out trams and find different locals. Above a pub and a main street in the red light so they include ear plugs with your room which is a great help! The rooms are clean but small and beds not the most comfortable, but if you are in Amsterdam to sleep then you are going to the wrong place!
The pub on the first floor was great! Very nice for meeting up with friends and for having a few drinks before heading out into the city. The orange juice was delicious :)
The location was the best we have stayed in Amsterdam and will be staying here every time we go back! Literally a 5 minute walk from central station. A coffee shop was around each corner, canals and shops surrounding it.
If you are in Amsterdam for a good time and want to stay in the heart of it all this is the place to book!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Internationaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Internationaal

Address: Warmoesstraat 1 - 3 | Old Side: Red Light District, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Internationaal 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Hotel Internationaal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internationaal Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Internationaal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.