We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect as advertised!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Internationaal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Internationaal to your Saves list
Ranked #127 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect as advertised!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

As far as pricing goes for the location...absolutly fantastic!

All the staff were cool and the manager was awesome!

The room was basic and clean as expected, the bar had a great buzz at night and being about a 3 min walk from the train station made is even better. Haven't stayed at the same place in Amsterdam more than once but I am definetly coming back here.

The noise was fine as we were out late and up early anyway.

Was brilliant that it was smoking friendly.

The steep steps were steeper than I thought after reading about them and they were a challange with a full suitcase but fine as long as we were carfull lol!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    51
    34
    7
    8
See reviews for
12
67
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Great location near to the train station. Staff very helpful and friendly. Rooms basic but clean. Near to the student area so expect noise at night ! Good value for money and as a base was exactly what we needed. The bar downstairs was handy and again very friendly - not the tourist prices we were expecting. Good screen in the bar for sports coverage

Room Tip: Ask for a room with shower if possible or you will have shared facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Excellent hotel based in the centre of Amsterdam.

The hotel is easy to find and very friendly staff and Michael is a giggle. The room we had was a kingside bed with an en-suit looking onto the road. Yes it was a bit noisy at night but what do you expect from a hotel in the city centre in a busy part of Amsterdam. The hotel provide ear plug if you require them already in the room but not a problem at all.

The room was very clean and tidy the bed was made every day and the room was tidied not complaints here.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Room are serviced every day, The bed was just like our's at home, yet again a good time had in The best European City i have been to. with everything possible to see and do, we had the Remberance day and got to see the king, and had some Great food and drink as well,Thanks to Michael and Staff 5***** from us.

Room Tip: En suit is best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I stayed here with my 18 year old daughter for 2 nights. Its location is great, about 4 mins walk from Central Station. It's on the outskirts of Red Light District but we liked the fact it was in a busy area with loads going on, plenty of bars, cafes, shops and places to eat nearby. The hotel itself is basic but clean, after all you get what you pay for. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Just be warned the stairs are very steep, as are many in older Amsterdam properties. I would certainly return again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my two friends for two nights, first time in Amsterdam no problems, literally across the road from the train station. Basic room 3 single beds but clean and a bargain price, great location and staff were very friendly when we arrived at the bar. Stairs are really steep but if your careful you'll be fine, shared toilet was always clean and will definately be returning here again this year if possible! id definately recommend people to stay here :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Close to central station, historical spots, red light district and coffee shops. Pub downstairs with great music, really friendly staff willing to answer any questions, very steep stairs: not great when you're carrying a 20kg case or have had a few.. Had a small double, smoking room which looked onto the busy street, but as a young couple it suited us. Only issue really was the communal shower and toilet, but for the price I'd say its good value for money. Really enjoyed our stay in Amsterdam, will be going back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Internationaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Internationaal

Address: Warmoesstraat 1 - 3 | Old Side: Red Light District, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Internationaal 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Internationaal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internationaal Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Internationaal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.