We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Internationaal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Internationaal to your Saves list
Hotel Internationaal
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Warmoesstraat 1 - 3 | Old Side: Red Light District, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #130 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

NOT RECOMMEND !!!Not suitable for families with children.Hotel Interntionaal close to the Central Station, and Red Light District with full of bars, coffeshops and strip clubs.Very small rooms have got shared shower and toilet..Very dirty ,noisy,and very small doesn't offer facilities for the price paid!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nickolay S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Internationaal, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Ele,
It was thousands of times described everywhere about the location of the hotel and about the noise on the streets, you did not tell anything new to the people who will read the review.
If you taking your children along with you, you should read very carefully about the place you taking your child. Red Light district with strip clubs and bars, drunk and stoned people on the street. What do you expect to find in the old street of Amsterdam? Our hotel was used as a sailors hostel and in 1980s was redesigned as a 1 star hotel.
If you travel with kids, there are plenty places to stay in Amsterdam. Artis Zoo area, Hortus Botanicus area, Amstelveen with beautiful forest (Amsterdamse Bos).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    71
    40
    8
    8
See reviews for
12
86
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is my second visit to Amsterdam. First time I stayed in a 2 star hotel, nice and quite place but for our next trip we were looking for something very central and rich with night life place. Hotel Interntionaal I chooses because of close location to the Central Station, price and Red Light District with full of bars, coffeshops and strip clubs. On arrival we get surprised that bar and reception is the same place, but for us it was more advantage than disadvantage, while bartender checked us in, we ordered coffee.
Room that we got has shared shower and toilet, but shared facilities were located on the same floor, just next door. All in all, hotel right place to stay for couples who will not spend much time in the room watching TV and going out only for launch. For this kind of activity hotel not good enough. We needed a too just to keep our luggage and drop our tired bodies after a long and adventures day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

The location is awesome, right in the middle of the city, a couple minutes walk from the red light district, and the trains, and anything else you want to check out. Museums are within walking distance too if you like walking (about 20-30 minutes). The room was small but clean, but the beds were very comfortable, and the room has everything we needed. It is pretty loud out on the street, but it's not bad (I don't mind noise though). They also give you ear plugs. I would recommend this hotel for sure, it is a great price especially for the good location. Also the first floor of the hotel is a pub, which has a super good atmosphere. Stay here if you want to be right in the middle of everything with easy accessibility to all the main attractions in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Location is great, but rooms are small. Good bar, if you want a quiet place this hotel is not for you
but if you're there for the place it really worth.
Do not stay in the room with a view to street, it's noisy. good for traveling with friends or in couples. the bath is outside the room but very clean and big.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

This is far from the best hotel in the world but it is great value for money, the staff are helpful and friendly and it's clean. Which is a massive bonus for this price bracket in Amsterdam.
It is located perfectly for Central Station and in my opinion the best Coffee Shops The Dam has to offer.
For six years I have stayed here at least once a year and have never been disappointed.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Just returned from a two night stay can't fault the place clean tidy comfortable rooms right in the centre if the red light district so expect some noise. Friendly helpful staff overall an excellent budget hotel would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend have just come back from staying here for 3 night. We stayed on the top floor with a jacuzzi bath. The room wasn't amazing, but it had everything you need and we enjoyed staying here. It is so close to everything and was kept clean and new towels were given every day. In our room we couldn't even hear the bar downstairs. If was noisy outside, but your in the middle of Amsterdam. We slept fine, with no problems due to noise. Would defenitley stay again

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Koopermoolen
Hotel De Koopermoolen
#177 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#232 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#61 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#213 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#238 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#96 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Internationaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Internationaal

Address: Warmoesstraat 1 - 3 | Old Side: Red Light District, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Internationaal 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Internationaal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internationaal Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Internationaal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.