We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Internationaal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Internationaal to your Saves list
Hotel Internationaal
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Warmoesstraat 1 - 3 | Old Side: Red Light District, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Basic but brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Having stayed here on around 7 occasions, my latest trip maintains my love of this little place. If you get off the train at the Centraal Station you will be in the Hotel within 5 mins (walking). Now as the title says it is basic, you get a bed a cupboard a mirror and a sink. You have to share the shower and toilet with others on your floor. It has always been clean though. Yes sometimes it can bee pretty noisy, but if you stay anywhere in central Amsterdam in the thick of it it's going to be noisy. However its not extreme. The location is fantastic your ar close to anything and everything that is a must do and see in Amsrterdam. If it's a weeks peace relaxing in comfort and luxury then go elsewhere, though if you want a cheap place for 3 or 4 nights to put your head down smack bang in the middle of the action then this is for you. There is a bar downstairs (public) and its a great place to start your day or night, also a great place of info and advice if you've never been to Amsterdam before. Just ask at the bar.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    64
    37
    8
    8
See reviews for
12
80
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Donegal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We arrived early on friday morning, there were 12 of us and the staff couldn't have been nicer. The hotel is situated cenral to everything, pretty mad for those who want to go for a mad weekend, it's the perfect place. The rooms are clean and the time we went it was early february and it was like minus 10 degrees for the whole 4 days but the hotel rooms were warm. Wouldn't complain one bit, only for trying to climb the steep stairs while intoxicated lol

Room Tip: Ask for the first floor as the stairs are quite steep and unbearable when coming in from a night out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The hotel has a nice position close to the Central Station but was very noisy during the night. One must be very tired in order to be able to fall to sleep, especially in the weekends. Otherwise, quite expensive room but very little, with a stare case that you must avoid if you are drunk :) But that's old Amsterdam's architecture...:) I liked very much the atmosphere in the receptions hall as it offers a cozy place to grab a beer.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel is in a great location, right on the Warmoeestraat which is always buzzing. So do expect some noise late into the night (ear plugs are provided in rooms though!).

It is also a five minute walk from the central station, so in regards to transfers from the airport you couldnt pick a more perfect destination. Within 40 minutes of picking up our baggage we had settled into our room! We picked up the first train from the airport in to Amsterdam central. It only takes twenty minutes.

I believe this hotel is 75% more of a hostel based accomodation, with shared rooms and shared bathrooms. However, there are at least two rooms, situated right at the top of the building that are perfect for couples. They go quickly though! The room was more like a small apartment, with its own hallway, shower room, bathroom and bedroom. On the downside the lighting in the bedroom was very very dim.

If you have never been to Amsterdam before beware of the stairs, they are especially narrow and practically vertical. Without an elevator, carrying our 20Kg luggage up and down was a real nightmare! After a couple of days you get used to the stairs and will practically skip up and down.

Staff on arrival and exit were super friendly and welcoming. The room was cleaned every day. I would be giving this hotel top marks but my one complaint is quite important to me.
While the room was cleaned every day, our sheets were never clean. On arrival there were some funny stains in the corners. One night, when we returned to the room merry and with some chips we dropped some ketchup on the bed, noticeably. Again the sheets were not once changed in our stay. I can deal with the stain we made ourselves but the stains that were there on arrival were difficult to accept.

And finally fellow travellers, if you are here to dabble in the typical culture, there is an ash tray provided in rooms and you are allowed to smoke as many joints as you like before bed :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Internationaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Internationaal

Address: Warmoesstraat 1 - 3 | Old Side: Red Light District, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#120 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Internationaal 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Internationaal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internationaal Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Internationaal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.