We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Internationaal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Internationaal to your Saves list
Hotel Internationaal
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Warmoesstraat 1 - 3 | Old Side: Red Light District, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“A good budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel. It is in a great location with a 2 minute walk from the central station and right next to some good bars and places to eat.

We arrived early and our room wasn't ready but the man behind the bar allowed us to leave our case in the secure area while we went for a walk and a drink until the room was ready.

The room itself was good. We stayed in the double deluxe room in the attic with private en suite bathroom with jacuzzi tub which was great. The furnishings in the room were a bit old and battered but everything was spotlessly clean every day with fresh bed linen and towels.

The hotel provided earplugs for guests but we never needed them. It was quite noisy as you are on a busy street with lots of bars and the street cleaners are out early in the morning but this didn't stop us from getting a good nights sleep.

As others have mentioned the stairs are very very steep but that is common with the old buildings in Amsterdam. There is 3 sets of stairs to reach the attic rooms so it may be something to avoid if you aren't very able!

The pub downstairs seemed popular at night but we never used it so can't comment.

Free wifi was a nice added extra.

In summary, for what we paid it was a good deal and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    57
    35
    8
    8
See reviews for
12
74
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Angelsey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Close to Central Station, Bar is nice and friendly, Ideal location for everything, stairs are steep and room was small, and noisy at night, a bit overpriced for what you where getting, they have a secure area to leave your luggage after check out

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I booked this hotel after reading some of the other reviews, primarily because of its location (close to Central Station). The bar is really friendly and a great place to meet locals and travellers alike. We had a room in the attic (en-suite) and yes the stairs are steep and narrow but this is not unusual in Amsterdam especially the old part. Our room was a decent size and has everything you need for a short stay (we stayed 4 nights). It was reasonably clean but very dark and dreary, everything was painted a strange shade of green. It is a good choice for younger people because it's cheap compared to other hotels in this area, we are in our fifties and managed the stairs with no problems. It does get noisy of a Friday and Saturday night but wasn't so bad that you couldn't sleep. Would I stay here again? Yes I probably would.

Room Tip: The attic rooms are quieter than the other rooms if you're ok with the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We booked this hotel knowing it would be loud and in the centre of everything. We arrived early at 10.30am and weren't able to check in until the afternoon but the owners let us leave our trolley bag near the bar. We walked around, had lunch then went back to hotel for a beer. Checked into room about 1pm. We had room 32 which is a superior room with jacuzzi bath. Top floor and the steps are STEEP. This hotel was excellent value for money, in the heart of everything and we would definitely stay here again. Thanks

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at hotel internationaal for 3 nites in march was our 2nd trip to amsterdam and whatta place to stay . Rooms have everythin u need ( beds tv wadrobe chairs and ashtray) smoking is allowed in your room (weed) hotels location is unbeleiveable coffee shops bars restaurants everything is within walkin distance . Can be a little noisy at nite but theyres earpluggs provided but in truth we slept no problem . Hotel internationaal was a great baisic but clean and will definetly return here hopefully in the near future

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Internationaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Internationaal

Address: Warmoesstraat 1 - 3 | Old Side: Red Light District, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Internationaal 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Internationaal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internationaal Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Internationaal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.