We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly as expected would recommend to the savvy traveller” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Internationaal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Internationaal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Internationaal
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Warmoesstraat 1 - 3 | Old Side: Red Light District, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #120 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
chester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exactly as expected would recommend to the savvy traveller”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We read the reviews before we booked and when we arrived found nothing we didnt expect, location fantastic, stairs steep, staff friendly and helpful, some noise at night, we didnt find it a problem being in the attic room (31) probably helped, room very clean we had an ensuite separate toilet and shower room off a large entrance hall it was like a mini apartment, very large comfy bed, flat screen tv, very warm central heating, we stayed 4 nights.

Downside was no kettle in room to make a drink, but this is a room above a pub not a hotel so dont expect hotel service and the street it is on is full of restaurants and takeaways that cater for nearly every taste.

We have already recommended it to a friend and are planning to go back next year, which will be our 6th visit to Amsterdam and the 1st time we'll return to the same hotel!

Room Tip: Attic rooms 31 and 32 have the ensuites further to climb but quieter well worth the climb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    53
    33
    10
    9
See reviews for
12
61
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fife
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Good value,very central location,friendly & helpful staff,compact but clean room.Ideal for a short stay.Great traditional bar .Only minus points would be-a very steep staircase leading to rooms,ok for us but unsuitable for anyone with mobility restrictions.Also due to the location there was a fair bit of external noise,although the hotel had thoughtfully provided earplugs.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

This hotel is not complete luxury but it is clean, simple and comforatble. Staff are friendly and welcoming, the bar is cosy and traditional, however be careful on the stairs as they are typically steep !! Our room was facing the Warmoesstraat, buzzing part of the centre... however as Amsterdam never sleeps it was sometimes a little loud when we were trying to get to sleep at 5am... very much our own fault as we went for Amsterdam Dance Event. Perfect little hotel for travellers, you could do better if your wish to spend a lot more, but you could do a lot worse !

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

This is our second time staying at Hotel Internationaal and you’ve gotta love this hotel. So it’s not the Ritz but who wants to stay in the Ritz when in Amsterdam, here you are right in the middle of it all! Although this is a no nonsense hotel its clean, which is my one stipulation! Located on Warmoesstraat (one of the main streets that runs through the RLD) it does get a little noisy, especially early in the morning when the streets are being cleaned, but the hotel provides you with ear plugs. We stayed in the deluxe room on the top floor, it has a bit of a sitting area and a great Jacuzzi bath! The stairs are steep but you’re in Amsterdam that’s just the way they roll! Our room was cleaned everyday and this is also a smoker friendly hotel, you just have to open a window. We have just re-booked for Feb so they must be doing something right!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

My husband read good reviews about this hotel and booked it as a surprise vacation for my 30th birthday. The bar is small and cute and the bartender was nice. The stairs up to the rooms are interesting but also pretty dangerous because they are so steep. Pack lightly if you plan on staying here. We entered the first floor landing and my first view was of some half naked guy laying in bed smoking with his room door wide open. The smell of smoke and sweat coming out of there made me want to gag. We got into our room and I was slightly shocked. My poor husband immediately apologized. The room is in desperate need of a refurbishment. The carpets are old and dirty, the furniture is old and beat up. There are dirty marks and dings all over the pukey colored walls. We had to share a toilet and shower with the other people on our floor. I had to clean urine off of the toilet numerous times and the toilet always smelled like urine - probably because the men staying there were pissing all over the place. The shower was reasonably clean. It was quite warm in the room so we had to keep the window open. There is constant noise coming from outside that goes on 24/7. The location was good because we could walk to all of the attractions, however, there were many shady looking characters in the area who would make lude comments to us to get our attention to sell us drugs. The restaurants in the area mostly consist of kebab type shops. The bartender let us leave our bags at the hotel on our last day until our flight in the afternoon.

We still had a great time in Amsterdam despite the dodgy hotel. Next time we travel in Europe, we will paying extra to get a nicer room. The cost was still high in my opinion for staying in a place where you were scared to walk on the carpet without shoes and didn't want to touch the wall beside your bed with any part of your body! We went home with bug bites which I hope to hell weren't bed bugs. We kept our bags out of our room and washed everything when we got home. I don't know how this place gets good reviews. Maybe my standards are higher than others.

Room Tip: Bring disposable slippers/flip flops, wet wipes, and check the mattress for bed bugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Positives. location is great, close to everything, dam square is 4-5 min walk away centraal station less than 10 mins away on foot. on street with loads of bars cafes and restaurants. Hotel staff are friendly. Had nice bar with alot of character attached which was good fun, bar man even let us sample a few beers before choosing. Nice TV and full cable, fan in room and alar clock and evertything worked.
Negatives Would agree with all comments on stairs unbelievably steep, would not like to be carrying large suitcase. Room was very small for a double, sheets were dirty (some small stains), very noisy area at night but had window open because room got very hot otherwise, forget sleeping late in morning, wont happen. had ensuite bathroom which was again Tiny but everything worked, fresh towels delivered every day but cheap irratating kind. hot water seemed to come and go, guess they have water tank and once used up that was it.
If i had paid less for this room i would not complain but for price of over 115 per night i expect better and I'm sure you can easily find if you dont book at as short notice as i did.
Amsterdam has lot of poor hotels, i have stayed in worse but would not go as far to say i recommend. You can do beter but if you are stuck, you could do worse as well.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

The hotel is very conveniently located, near Central Station and City Center. The rooms are just above an old bar. Therefore it is very noisy until at leat 3AM even on weekdays. Rooms are very ran down, and very small. I recommend this hotel if you are in Amsterdam for partying . The price is low compared to other hotels in the area. Worth the value if you don't expect too much.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Internationaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Internationaal

Address: Warmoesstraat 1 - 3 | Old Side: Red Light District, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Internationaal 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Hotel Internationaal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internationaal Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Internationaal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.