We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel - no nonsense!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Internationaal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Internationaal to your Saves list
Hotel Internationaal
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Warmoesstraat 1 - 3 | Old Side: Red Light District, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Manchester
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great little hotel - no nonsense!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

This is our second time staying at Hotel Internationaal and you’ve gotta love this hotel. So it’s not the Ritz but who wants to stay in the Ritz when in Amsterdam, here you are right in the middle of it all! Although this is a no nonsense hotel its clean, which is my one stipulation! Located on Warmoesstraat (one of the main streets that runs through the RLD) it does get a little noisy, especially early in the morning when the streets are being cleaned, but the hotel provides you with ear plugs. We stayed in the deluxe room on the top floor, it has a bit of a sitting area and a great Jacuzzi bath! The stairs are steep but you’re in Amsterdam that’s just the way they roll! Our room was cleaned everyday and this is also a smoker friendly hotel, you just have to open a window. We have just re-booked for Feb so they must be doing something right!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    57
    35
    8
    8
See reviews for
12
74
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

My husband read good reviews about this hotel and booked it as a surprise vacation for my 30th birthday. The bar is small and cute and the bartender was nice. The stairs up to the rooms are interesting but also pretty dangerous because they are so steep. Pack lightly if you plan on staying here. We entered the first floor landing and my first view was of some half naked guy laying in bed smoking with his room door wide open. The smell of smoke and sweat coming out of there made me want to gag. We got into our room and I was slightly shocked. My poor husband immediately apologized. The room is in desperate need of a refurbishment. The carpets are old and dirty, the furniture is old and beat up. There are dirty marks and dings all over the pukey colored walls. We had to share a toilet and shower with the other people on our floor. I had to clean urine off of the toilet numerous times and the toilet always smelled like urine - probably because the men staying there were pissing all over the place. The shower was reasonably clean. It was quite warm in the room so we had to keep the window open. There is constant noise coming from outside that goes on 24/7. The location was good because we could walk to all of the attractions, however, there were many shady looking characters in the area who would make lude comments to us to get our attention to sell us drugs. The restaurants in the area mostly consist of kebab type shops. The bartender let us leave our bags at the hotel on our last day until our flight in the afternoon.

We still had a great time in Amsterdam despite the dodgy hotel. Next time we travel in Europe, we will paying extra to get a nicer room. The cost was still high in my opinion for staying in a place where you were scared to walk on the carpet without shoes and didn't want to touch the wall beside your bed with any part of your body! We went home with bug bites which I hope to hell weren't bed bugs. We kept our bags out of our room and washed everything when we got home. I don't know how this place gets good reviews. Maybe my standards are higher than others.

Room Tip: Bring disposable slippers/flip flops, wet wipes, and check the mattress for bed bugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Positives. location is great, close to everything, dam square is 4-5 min walk away centraal station less than 10 mins away on foot. on street with loads of bars cafes and restaurants. Hotel staff are friendly. Had nice bar with alot of character attached which was good fun, bar man even let us sample a few beers before choosing. Nice TV and full cable, fan in room and alar clock and evertything worked.
Negatives Would agree with all comments on stairs unbelievably steep, would not like to be carrying large suitcase. Room was very small for a double, sheets were dirty (some small stains), very noisy area at night but had window open because room got very hot otherwise, forget sleeping late in morning, wont happen. had ensuite bathroom which was again Tiny but everything worked, fresh towels delivered every day but cheap irratating kind. hot water seemed to come and go, guess they have water tank and once used up that was it.
If i had paid less for this room i would not complain but for price of over 115 per night i expect better and I'm sure you can easily find if you dont book at as short notice as i did.
Amsterdam has lot of poor hotels, i have stayed in worse but would not go as far to say i recommend. You can do beter but if you are stuck, you could do worse as well.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

The hotel is very conveniently located, near Central Station and City Center. The rooms are just above an old bar. Therefore it is very noisy until at leat 3AM even on weekdays. Rooms are very ran down, and very small. I recommend this hotel if you are in Amsterdam for partying . The price is low compared to other hotels in the area. Worth the value if you don't expect too much.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

This is a cheap hotel, and you get what you pay for. Do not book here if you want plush, or top class etc.

Its basic, and is fine if you just want somewhere to get your head down for a couple of nights after getting drunk or stoned.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

This is our eleventh trip to Amsterdam over the last few years. We’ve stayed in a variety of hotels and are familiar with hospitality standards in Amsterdam. I travelled with my partner, and two friends. We stayed in the top floor of Hotel Internaational for four nights. Both rooms have an ensuite – one of which had a jacuzzi bath.

We had read many positive reviews on this hotel and we were looking forward to the visit. The hotel is marketed as a ‘budget hotel’ so I wasn’t expecting much. Just hot running water, a good shower and someplace comfortable to sleep. Unfortunately the hotel offered none of these.

We paid extra for an en-suite room which we couldn’t use. The bath/Jacuzzi did NOT HAVE ANY TAPS and had to be filled with the shower head. This took nearly a long time. When it eventually was filled the hotel manager told us it was leaking into the room downstairs.

After the first night we did not have hot water in the mornings. The Hotel Manager told us to wait 20 minutes and try again. But there only seemed to be hot water for showers in the evening and night times.

The general feel of the room was that it was in desperate need for repair. The furniture was worn and tatty and one of the chairs was broken. The curtains had fallen down and were ‘tied’ onto a string. The carpet had also seen better days. The double bed was two ‘guest beds’ (similar to what you might have stored away at home), set into a wooden box with a mattress on top. It wasn’t very comfortable.
On the positive side, the room was quite large. Smoking was allowed in the rooms and the Hotel Manager and the cleaning lady were all very pleasant and welcoming. The Bar downstairs is really cosy and had that ‘old-world’ Dutch feel to it. It’s location is five minutes (or less) from the railway station which is great, and its right in one of the best areas for coffee-shops.

If this hotel spend a little money on re-decoration and repair, and sorted out its plumbing problems then it would be a little gem, unfortunately is still got a long way to go.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

I loved the hotel, the staff, the rooms, etc. Clean rooms, mellow staff, cute bar, convenient. If you plan to go to Amsterdam strictly to party, then this place is perfect. Walking distance to the train station and right in the heart of the red light district. Unfortunately, the noise of the red light district does make its way it the rooms and if I ever go back to Amsterdam (which hopefully I will because it is a GORGEOUS city) I will probably not stay there based on the location alone. Otherwise, I totally recommend this for young backpackers and party animals.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Internationaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Internationaal

Address: Warmoesstraat 1 - 3 | Old Side: Red Light District, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Internationaal 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Internationaal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internationaal Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Internationaal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.