We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with excellent bar and restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaasper Camping Amsterdam

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gaasper Camping Amsterdam
Loosdrechtdreef 7 | Gaasperplas, Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #138 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location with excellent bar and restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

This was the second time that we had stayed at Gaasper, the last time was in October 2010 and the site was virtually closed. This time there was much more available not least "The Terrace" bar and restaurant which was very welcoming and served great food at reasonable prices. The site is very clean and well kept and ideal for the city due to its proximity to the Metro. The only slight drawback was that you need tokens for anything to do with hot water.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    32
    8
    8
    2
See reviews for
18
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The site was easily found from the instructions on the website. 5 mins after arrival was on the pitch.
I visited in my camper van and got a basic pitch - no electric.

All services clean & tidy. Be sure to get tokens - you need them for everything except the toilets. Even the dishwashing sinks.

Was slightly disappointed that they have adopted the token system. It's not a cheap site so I would usually expect e showers and dishwashing to be included but as said by other reviewers, a great location, why the price is higher. I used the hire bikes €12.50 a day and was pleased. Had to be back by the time reception closed - 8pm to avoid another day charge.

I left on foot at 7am on Sunday morning to go to the marathon by train and saw the vehicle gate was locked and exit was by a turnstile. I never though to but check you can get back in when you want. If you have to leave your vehicle outside there is a car park' so that is sorted but if the turnstile is exit only you're stuck out until they open.

I found staff very helpful. A few visitors but the site was quiet in terms of both numbers and noise.

Reliable an clean site. Look no further. Bike hire a getting travel tickets a big plus. Easy and safe route into the town from the site by bike and metro.

If you miss the check out time they charge €2 an hour. I had just done the marathon and the site was very quiet - I think many sites would have waived that charge, using it only in busy times. With this and the token system it does have a penny pinching aura about it, however a good, solid and clean site. I would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The site is well cared for and has very easy access to the centre of Amsterdam. The facilities are clean and the pitches are a decent size with free wifi. Definitely the place to stay for visiting the city

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed here in our van when we were visiting Amsterdam and it was good, heaps of people were staying there but there was no wait for showers/bathrooms etc. The common areas were all clean and it wasn't noisy at night. The people in the office were helpful and they had heaps of brochures and stuff. Easy to get into town but takes awhile. A good place to stay if you have a camper or a tent etc.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goes, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My partner and I arrived just in the nick of time after travelling from Zeeland for a weekend in Amsterdam.The guy at reception was lovely in that he quickly settled us into a spot with our caravan and told us to check-in in the morning,no problems!
The camp grounds and facilities were well presented.Shower and toilet amenities spotless, a great little mini supermarket for those daily needs and forgotten items, a cafe style restaurant (didn't try) and multi lingual staff.
Would definitely visit again for Amsterdam weekends!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achnasheen
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The site itself average but score moved to Very Good by very helpful and friendly (multi-lingual) staff and the, well stocked site shop and lovely restaurant/take away. Very easy access to city centre via the Metro which is just a few minutes walk from the site. Cycle tracks all the way too. Maps with cycle routes into and out of Amsterdam available in site shop, as well as basics and gifts.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We were directed to this campsite as the site we usually use were full. We wanted an electric hook up but when we arrived and asked for one was basically told 'No'
The guy at Reception was arrogant and if it hadnt of been so late in the evening we probably would have moved on. But after a 6 hr ferry trip from England we were tired and wanted to rest.
As we didn't want to take our car onto the site due to extra cost we were just told to pitch our tent on a piece of grass land next to reception near the main entrance. This small area was already quite busy and upon asking the guy at Reception whether our tent would fit as it was an 8 berth, we were told 'it will fit'.
Yh just about! Only to wake up next morning finding that it was difficult to gain access to and from our tent as others had pitched up basically touching ours.
As we were nr the main entrance it was noisy as this was in constant use.
Walking around the site there were many spaces available that would have suited us better....& been quieter.
No hot water unless you pay extra for it and 5 min use of the shower for 80cent.
Amsterdam itself is easy enough to get to via metro and tram. About a 30 min ride.
Not an enjoyable experience and I def wouldn't visit here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gaasper Camping Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaasper Camping Amsterdam

Address: Loosdrechtdreef 7 | Gaasperplas, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Also Known As:
Gaasper Camping Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaasper Camping Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gaasper Camping Amsterdam to your Saves list