We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST in Amsterdam!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bulldog Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Bulldog Hotel to your Saves list
The Bulldog Hotel
Oudezijds Voorburgwal 216-220, 1012 GJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 186 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rockhampton, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The BEST in Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Absolutely raving about this hotel, by far the best hotel I've stayed. Firstly, the staff absolutely bend over backwards to help you with everything!! Secondly, the rooms are excellent, amazing artworks covering the whole place head to toe! There is a bar on the ground floor, for bulldog guests only and boy oh boy was 2E pints in happy hour a hit with us! We made an abundance of friends and had a little 'bulldog hotel crew' walking around Amsterdam and seeing the place together. Some of the best memories of my life have come from this hotel! As for safety, the staff are commited to help you have fun in the SAFEST manner, they are there to openly give advice about all things from drinking, smoking to partying. They are very approachable and a whole bunch of fun! The location is FABULOUS, walking distance to almost everything in Amsterdam, I wouldn't stay anywhere else after my experience here, the bulldog hotel was above and beyond every expectation I had in place and I have recommended it to several of my friends since my trip and they come back with the same attitude about it! Look no further guys, this is the place for you!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
We are really happy that we could help make your experience with us and in Amsterdam a memorable one! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    185
    70
    21
    17
See reviews for
7
75
77
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

I was travelling alone and decided to take a bed with other 11 unknown people in a single room. It was ok to me, and I enjoyed this hotel. They tried to help me once I get in there with my luggage, because it was big and it wont fit their lockers. The location of this hotel is the best one, it's in the middle of the red light district. If I was alone, I would definetly get back there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Carlos, SP
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

The bulldog is really a great hostel. I chose it for indications of hostelworld and it exceeded all my expectations. The rooms are great, they have a private bathroom per room, the location could not be better, the service is great, all the staff are very attentive and friendly, the food is very good and the staff gave me great pointers tours. For sure I will return to the bulldog when I visit Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
Thank you for the kind words! Hopefully the next trip to Amsterdam will be soon. Please let us know by email if you are coming again as we love to do something nice for our return guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We stayed in on of the private rooms, 2 bed, view onto the neighboring property. The themed room was great, race checkers and deep red everywhere, it was clean, tidy and comfortable, and very inviting. As for the rest of the hotel, staff were friendly enough when I dealt with them, the lounge bar downstairs is a great meeting spot, plenty of lone travelers, and groups mind, ready to meet new people, and of course, plenty or joints getting smoked in the process. Happy hour makes Heineken pints only €3, first place I've visited where happy hour is actually only one hour long, but hey, I'm not complaining. The smoking on the bar/cafés thing isn't overwhelming. I don't smoke weed, and it didn't worry me being there.

Location wise it's great. Centre of red light district. We flew into Schipol airport, caught the train to town, and walked 5 minutes to the hotel, couldn't be any easier! We got a little lost initially, all the canals and buildings look so similar, but with a map, we were experts. Walked everywhere in the 2 full days we had, but would recommend renting a bike or catching trams once you've got your bearings, would be much faster.

Most people come to Amsterdam for a couple of things, smoke weed, shag a lady of the night or simply just experience what has to be one of the most relaxed cities I ever visited.

I'll definitely be back to Amsterdam, and I'll definitely be back to the Bulldog.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Great location (right in the heart of the red light district). Staff are really nice and helpful. Wifi is FREE everywhere inside! Thought I was staying in a 12 bed dorm, but ended up in an 8 bed dorm-great! Lockers were narrow (typical) and only fit skinny locks (sold at front desk if yours doesn't fit). Bathrooms cleaned everyday. I left my bag in the luggage room on check out day for free. Free breakfast is simple but good for saving money, don't suggest eating the burger for dinner though. Happy hour 8-9 pm is 2 euro pints of Heineken! Bar was a great place to hang out in!

Room Tip: Stayed in a 8 person dorm-it was typical hostel, no complaints!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Stayed overnight. It was a 9 bed mixed dorm. It is walkable from the central station. However you can still take a tram to dam square and then its a 2 minute walk. Front desk people were friendly. The rooms were ok. Bathrooms were a bit smelly. It is also located on the edge of the nightlife area. The breakfast was very good with a decent amount of variety. Bread, eggs, juice, coffee., fruits. Considering the location, nightlife and price, i would definitely recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I've stayed at the Bulldog Hostel for a few years now and I thought the staff were a lot more friendly on this visit. The lounge area is a great place to hangout in between other activities. The breakfast is fairly simple but there is plenty of bread, ham, cheese, yoghurt, orange juice and coffee.
I think when you add everything together it's good value for money and you can't really ask for more than that.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bulldog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulldog Hotel

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 216-220, 1012 GJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 186 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up in one of the highest rated hostels,located in the middle of one of the most visually stunning cities in the world! The Bulldog Hostel Amsterdam is loaded with that typical international and liberal atmosphere that makes Amsterdam so special... besides other things. You can either choose to stay in a dorm, a private room or one of our cool apartments whenever you come stumbling back from your Amsterdam adventure! We will make sure it will feel like your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bulldog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bulldog Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.