We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Base” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bulldog Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Bulldog Hotel to your Saves list
The Bulldog Hotel
Oudezijds Voorburgwal 220, 1012 GJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 207 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Base”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Have been here over 20 times in the last 10 years of visiting Amsterdam! Has everything you need, great relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff, right in the heart of the city and rooms are always clean. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philpot80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hi,

That's really nice to hear. Thanks for sharing it. Please make sure that you email us in advance next time you are coming. We would love to do something nice for such frequent guest!

Until next time...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Our stay at The Bulldog was awesome. The hostel is very clean and the staff is extremely helpful. I originally only booked 1 night of our 4 night stay as the hostel was booked online. On arrival, I asked if there was anything available and the hotel was able to get me in for the following 3 nights. Everything is extremely clean and safe. The bar/lounge is a really cool place to hang out despite the food being a bit overpriced and a bit under quality. Overall a great place to stay for anyone traveling on a budget or with friends around Europe. Breakfast wasn't very good, but if you want better it's not far away.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thanks for the review. im glad we could get you a bed for the extra nights!

It so much nicer when you can just put your bags down and relax for a few days without running around looking for hostels!

Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We enjoyed our stay there. The bar is very nice, the localization is excellent!
Breakfast included! Rooms are excellent, decorated, clean, and has television.
Almost inside the Red Light district, closer to nice places to take a walk.

Room Tip: We got a couple bed, but it was formed by two single bed, and it was not very confortable. Check it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This review is extremely overdue but defiantly needed.

Our return to the bulldog was not a let-down.

When we arrived we was greeted in such a warm and friendly fashion- (Always the case when i travel to the bulldog) Receptionist basically gave us a quick rundown (as we've stayed here numerous times) and then advised us that she would be calling for the taxi to come and pick us up to take us over to the apartment... can you say rock star service ;).. Considering it’s not that far away I think it’s a lovely touch especially when you have loads of suitcases and the most that you want to do is throw them down and start enjoying Amsterdam .

Location: Again the apartments where like a 10 minute walk to the red light district (but then me and the ladies like to walk fast don’t like to waste any smoking time ;) .
They have a café below and considering we have been coming to Amsterdam for so many years and only just discovered that the bulldog is quite a large chain  we usually always stay in the hotel. Oh and they give you free coffee in the mornings if you are staying about in the apartments (bonus)
There are many shops, and bars and around oh and places to hire bikes.

Apartment: Lovely, Historic building – Old Amsterdam stairs the first time we saw them we did all let out a gasp but once you learn how to maneuverer them you will be fine (wouldn’t recommend this apartment for any one with real walking difficulties.
Huge living room, sofa’s massive flat screen TV. Huge table, and then a lovely dining room table that I think we only used to hold our alcohol.
The Bedrooms – two bedrooms up the stairs I think there where 3 beds in each room decent size too defiantly bigger than a single bed but smaller then a double.
Toilet and sink up stairs and a massive bathroom downstairs with walk in shower. (Lush)
Good sized kitchen…only thing that I would put down is there was no oven (we only discovered this after shopping up a storm (frozen food) and having to microwave pizza… 

Cannot complain loved staying here will be returning – Also this side is better for travellers looking for a bit more peace and quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinai86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for three nights. We found it to be great location and not to far from the train station. There meals in there hotel are reasonably priced. The rooms are a great size with plenty of room having 2 large suitcases. Definitely recommend staying here. Lots of fun.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Brizclem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you so much. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Beds were comfy and rooms were clean (the cleaners tidy the room but never change bed sheets, and come bursting in and put the lights on when the dorm was fast asleep at 8am). Location wise couldn't be better (but then again the touristic area of Amsterdam is only very small anyway, hard,to go wrong on the location front).

Pretty cool bar downstairs in the hostel. Breakfast was included in my rates (£28 a night, not great for an 8 bed dorm), but it was naff. Bread and cheap ham/salami, never my preferred choice first thing in the morning. Fruit juice and cold water also served, but there's a grumpy fellow (perhaps the owner) who sits by it to ensure you only use the shot glasses to fill up your fruit juice!

Some girls on reception are nice, others are particularly rude. I almost felt like butting in when she was talking to a guest spitefully. Our electric in the room broke on my last night so couldn't charge my phone. Overall very very average.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adaloosos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for the review, one of the toughest things hostels face is to satisfy the different expectations and tastes of people from many different cultures. We are certainly trying our best and we apologize if we did not meet yours. Enjoy the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

My sister and I stayed at the Bulldog for three nights beginning a month long tour of Europe. The beds were comfortable, rooms were clean, and showers were hot. Security was great, especially after about 7pm. No entry unless you have a "hostel passport" showing you are staying there. The location was wonderful!! Two blocks off of the Red Light District, and two off of Damsquare, which has access to buses and tram lines. I would definitely book here again!!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cabo2325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
That's what the Bulldog Hotel is all about ; providing a clean, safe environment for travelers from all over the world to come together, make new friends and enjoy our fantastic city. Glad you could be a part of it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,764 reviews
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#26 of 207 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 965 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bulldog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulldog Hotel

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 220, 1012 GJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 207 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up in one of the highest rated hostels,located in the middle of one of the most visually stunning cities in the world! The Bulldog Hostel Amsterdam is loaded with that typical international and liberal atmosphere that makes Amsterdam so special... besides other things. Choose to stay in a dorm, private room or in our cool private suite whenever you come stumbling back from your Amsterdam adventure! We will make sure it will feel like your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Bulldog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing