We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overdue Review - The Bulldog SPUI” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bulldog Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Bulldog Hotel to your Saves list
The Bulldog Hotel
Oudezijds Voorburgwal 216-220, 1012 GJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Overdue Review - The Bulldog SPUI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This review is extremely overdue but defiantly needed.

Our return to the bulldog was not a let-down.

When we arrived we was greeted in such a warm and friendly fashion- (Always the case when i travel to the bulldog) Receptionist basically gave us a quick rundown (as we've stayed here numerous times) and then advised us that she would be calling for the taxi to come and pick us up to take us over to the apartment... can you say rock star service ;).. Considering it’s not that far away I think it’s a lovely touch especially when you have loads of suitcases and the most that you want to do is throw them down and start enjoying Amsterdam .

Location: Again the apartments where like a 10 minute walk to the red light district (but then me and the ladies like to walk fast don’t like to waste any smoking time ;) .
They have a café below and considering we have been coming to Amsterdam for so many years and only just discovered that the bulldog is quite a large chain  we usually always stay in the hotel. Oh and they give you free coffee in the mornings if you are staying about in the apartments (bonus)
There are many shops, and bars and around oh and places to hire bikes.

Apartment: Lovely, Historic building – Old Amsterdam stairs the first time we saw them we did all let out a gasp but once you learn how to maneuverer them you will be fine (wouldn’t recommend this apartment for any one with real walking difficulties.
Huge living room, sofa’s massive flat screen TV. Huge table, and then a lovely dining room table that I think we only used to hold our alcohol.
The Bedrooms – two bedrooms up the stairs I think there where 3 beds in each room decent size too defiantly bigger than a single bed but smaller then a double.
Toilet and sink up stairs and a massive bathroom downstairs with walk in shower. (Lush)
Good sized kitchen…only thing that I would put down is there was no oven (we only discovered this after shopping up a storm (frozen food) and having to microwave pizza… 

Cannot complain loved staying here will be returning – Also this side is better for travellers looking for a bit more peace and quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    160
    64
    20
    17
See reviews for
6
66
65
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for three nights. We found it to be great location and not to far from the train station. There meals in there hotel are reasonably priced. The rooms are a great size with plenty of room having 2 large suitcases. Definitely recommend staying here. Lots of fun.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you so much. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Beds were comfy and rooms were clean (the cleaners tidy the room but never change bed sheets, and come bursting in and put the lights on when the dorm was fast asleep at 8am). Location wise couldn't be better (but then again the touristic area of Amsterdam is only very small anyway, hard,to go wrong on the location front).

Pretty cool bar downstairs in the hostel. Breakfast was included in my rates (£28 a night, not great for an 8 bed dorm), but it was naff. Bread and cheap ham/salami, never my preferred choice first thing in the morning. Fruit juice and cold water also served, but there's a grumpy fellow (perhaps the owner) who sits by it to ensure you only use the shot glasses to fill up your fruit juice!

Some girls on reception are nice, others are particularly rude. I almost felt like butting in when she was talking to a guest spitefully. Our electric in the room broke on my last night so couldn't charge my phone. Overall very very average.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for the review, one of the toughest things hostels face is to satisfy the different expectations and tastes of people from many different cultures. We are certainly trying our best and we apologize if we did not meet yours. Enjoy the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

My sister and I stayed at the Bulldog for three nights beginning a month long tour of Europe. The beds were comfortable, rooms were clean, and showers were hot. Security was great, especially after about 7pm. No entry unless you have a "hostel passport" showing you are staying there. The location was wonderful!! Two blocks off of the Red Light District, and two off of Damsquare, which has access to buses and tram lines. I would definitely book here again!!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
That's what the Bulldog Hotel is all about ; providing a clean, safe environment for travelers from all over the world to come together, make new friends and enjoy our fantastic city. Glad you could be a part of it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I did not see the Bulldog HOSTEL, maybe it is different from what showed up when I searched.
I stayed in a Dorm Room ( Co - Ed ). It was ok, and I didn't want to spend a bunch of money, so I stayed here. Be prepared for people that SNORE. It was what I expected.
You can get a private room, but pay a lot more for it.

Room Tip: All the Dorm Rooms are going to be the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thanks for the review. Just one note: all the dorms are not the same. They have different sizes, decoration and some even have a great canal view. Guests are more than welcome to ask for something specific on arrival. We are a busy hotel but always happy to try and fulfill any and all of our guests requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

From the moment my friend and I arrived at the bulldog, we were welcomed with friendly staff at the desk, they were very accommodating and even allowed us to have our room earlier than check in so we could make the best of our stay. The room we had was with an en suite this was cosy, clean and tidy. The bulldog is in a fantastic location with everything so close we spent most of our time walking everywhere. The bar downstairs was nice and we happily spent an evening there, the bar staff here were also very friendly as were the staff who provided breakfast and they made sure everything was constantly topped up to ensure a good simple selection. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it anyone, excellent vibe!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
We've passed on your comments to our lovely team! Its great to know their hard work and passion is appreciated . Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Loved This Place ! We were a bunch of 5 friends and had taken the apartment ! Amazing apartments, very spacious with ample of light ! great beds ! Great Location, Great Staff ! Great place to meet people as well as there are mostly youngsters staying here ! The BULLDOG COFFEE is a MUST TRY !
The only two downsides were that the bathroom was very small and you have to climb alot of stairs to get to the apartment !

Room Tip: They have three buildings all within a two minute walk. So do be careful when booking multiple rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thanks for the nice review, come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bulldog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulldog Hotel

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 216-220, 1012 GJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up in one of the highest rated hostels,located in the middle of one of the most visually stunning cities in the world! The Bulldog Hostel Amsterdam is loaded with that typical international and liberal atmosphere that makes Amsterdam so special... besides other things. You can either choose to stay in a dorm, a private room or one of our cool apartments whenever you come stumbling back from your Amsterdam adventure! We will make sure it will feel like your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bulldog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bulldog Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.