We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will recommend to anyone” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bulldog Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Bulldog Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bulldog Hotel
Oudezijds Voorburgwal 216-220, 1012 GJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Will recommend to anyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Loved This Place ! We were a bunch of 5 friends and had taken the apartment ! Amazing apartments, very spacious with ample of light ! great beds ! Great Location, Great Staff ! Great place to meet people as well as there are mostly youngsters staying here ! The BULLDOG COFFEE is a MUST TRY !
The only two downsides were that the bathroom was very small and you have to climb alot of stairs to get to the apartment !

Room Tip: They have three buildings all within a two minute walk. So do be careful when booking multiple rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thanks for the nice review, come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    139
    57
    20
    17
See reviews for
4
55
52
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Encantado, RS
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Very well located, clean rooms, nice bar with extra cold draught heineken until 03:00AM. Nice breakfast, but nothing fancy. Stayed in private room, it was small, but clean and cozy. Staff was friendly and polite. Next time in Amsterdam, I will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review us. Hopefully your'e next visit is sooner rather than later . Make sure you email us and let us know you are a return guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

my friend borrowed the Iron from the front desk. when we came down the stairs at night the same chinese guy shouted in her face! incredibly rude. She didnt know she had to bring it back withing ten minutes, the stairs took that long.Prices for the room were not competitive compared to others thinking back on nite

American guy nice on check in, breakfast nothing special. Was ok. wouldnt go back again
we shared large room between 12 of us. Bathroom stank

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
That does seem a bit extreme and we really sorry if you had a bad experience. It certainly seems strange that using an iron would cause any sort of problem at all.

Guests are more than welcome to borrow an iron. You can leave a deposit at reception and return it when you're through. Easy!

It should be said that we have neither American or Chinese staff at the front desk though...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Have stayed at the Bulldog more times than I think I can remember, great location, great staff, prices has gone up over the last few years but with respect, no more than anywhere else in the city. very popular place to stay, was there for Kings Day 2014 and what a fanatic atmosphere not just with the staff at the Bulldog but the whole city. great experience to witness such a celebrated day after missing it for so many years.

Keep up the good work Bulldog and see you Christmas

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I love the bulldog and have stayed here a few times now but not sure I will stay again. Prices have gone up recently and it is on par with a 4-5* hotel (around 120€ a night for a double room.
The rooms are basic with bathroom TV and beds. There is alot of work going on which meant heating controls were out of use but I was kindly provided with a heater. The works meant that I was woken very early every morning however so no lie in for me.
Not sure what people are talking about the staff as I found them polite and very helpful.
You do have to leave id but you can request it back if you need it.
I hate the fact that you cant take food from outside inside whether it's the bar or your room it's not allowed so you will need to sneak these in. Becomes a bit more satisfying eating KFC in your bedroom having got one over on security!
Overall a great location but for the price and restrictions I don't think I will stay here again as I could get an apartment for less.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

My friend and I went to Amsterdam for the first time in April and we fell in love with the place. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The staff were kind and friendly and extremely helpful. They recommended we try the canal cruise that runs outside, and it didn't disappoint. We stayed in an 8 person all female dorm. The room was clean and tidy and the beds were very comfortable. There are large lockers (big enough to fit two suitcases) in the room, however you need to take your own padlock. The Bulldog has an amazing atmosphere, especially in the bar downstairs. Drinks are a decent price, and you can smoke if you like (check out Energy coffee shop next door). I can't recommend this place enough - we're already looking at coming back in September :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a 3 night stay at the bulldog with my girlfriend, the location was amazing and the views were beautiful. Night security was in place and very strict which is good. You can drink and smoke as much weed as you can till 4am in a chilled lounge. We booked a Private room which was average but clean and good sized and comfy bed. Overall a very enjoyable stay and defo be going back!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bulldog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulldog Hotel

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 216-220, 1012 GJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up in one of the highest rated hostels,located in the middle of one of the most visually stunning cities in the world! The Bulldog Hostel Amsterdam is loaded with that typical international and liberal atmosphere that makes Amsterdam so special... besides other things. You can either choose to stay in a dorm, a private room or one of our cool apartments whenever you come stumbling back from your Amsterdam adventure! We will make sure it will feel like your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bulldog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bulldog Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;