We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complaint” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bulldog Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Bulldog Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bulldog Hotel
Oudezijds Voorburgwal 216-220, 1012 GJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“Complaint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed in a twelve bed dorm which was clean, comfortable and save. We absolutely love it to stay in your hotel. Overall the hotel had a nice vibe to it, specially with the bar where you can smoke ( marihuana ) and have a beer till way after midnight. after four things become more complicated however for those that like to make it late.

Staff in general is very friendly and inviting but the receptionist was at night can be grumpy to say at least. Changing money for the machines and get some information was impossible because one of them was sleeping in the bar and your other receptionist could not change. The second night we wanted to use the toilet in the bar and we found it very strange to see your receptionist ( Spaniard ) sleeping there again. A minor inconvenience.
This hotel is truly worth to visit.

Your faithfully,

Laura weichselbaum
,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    138
    57
    20
    17
See reviews for
4
55
52
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I stayed here and found the location of the hotel to be very good, the staff very friendly and welcoming , The private room was of a good size and standard and had all mod cons, The food in the lounge was very good, the beer was also very good.

I would recommend this hotel and will be back in June ;-)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

i was so nervous about going to stay in a hostel, however it was not bad atall. The coffee shop below was great could always get a seat to just chill out. The rooms were ok, beds were clean, bathrooms clean, plenty of space for all of us. The hostel was in a really good position as everything is on the doorstep. staff were helpful and friendly. Didnt really rate breakfast but that was ok as plenty of places nearby. will defo be going back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

my stay was amazing staff are friendly coffee was great music pool bar snacks were nice too.
when I come to Amsterdam I always stay at the bulldog in either apartment or ensuite room both equally as good love it here like a home from home...see you again in june!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Brilliant location, friendly and helpful staff. 5 of us stayed in the dorms, great for a base, everything is on the doorstep. Good bar and breakfast was adequate. Can smoke in the bar. Amazing price. Had a weirdo in our dorm, he didn't move from his bunk, just sat on his laptop, but he must have just loved the bulldog. Recommended to lots of friends. Wouldn't stop anywhere else

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed as a group of 9 friends for 2 nights at Bulldog in a private dorm room. The best asset of Bulldog is the unbeatable location right in the centre of Amsterdam, only a few minutes away from main station, coffee shops, red light district etc.

Staff is super friendly and helpful and there is free delicious breakfast included. There is a coffee shop just next to the hotel and smoking is allowed in the cool lobby/bar area of Bulldog, which is also a good place to meet people. Room size is good, cleanliness is perfect and in our dorm there were two combined shower/toilet facilities available. The only thing where I think Bulldog could improve is the design/atmosphere inside the rooms.

To sum up, it's a safe bet and I would totally recommend this place. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

just back from a weekend stay, wouldn't classify this place as a hostel more a hotel, travelled as a group of 7, had a private dorm to ourselves, room was very spacious with our own private shower and toilet. beds were very comfortable and clean, on arrival we were checked in straight away, were able to come and go as pleased, the food downstairs was lovely, lovely staff, all in all a great stay at a reasonable price, would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bulldog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulldog Hotel

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 216-220, 1012 GJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up in one of the highest rated hostels,located in the middle of one of the most visually stunning cities in the world! The Bulldog Hostel Amsterdam is loaded with that typical international and liberal atmosphere that makes Amsterdam so special... besides other things. You can either choose to stay in a dorm, a private room or one of our cool apartments whenever you come stumbling back from your Amsterdam adventure! We will make sure it will feel like your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bulldog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bulldog Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.