We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As hostels go, not bad at all!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bulldog Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Bulldog Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bulldog Hotel
Oudezijds Voorburgwal 216-220, Amsterdam 1012 GJ, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 171 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
London, England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“As hostels go, not bad at all!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed here with a group of 14 guys on a 30th birthday. Rooms were very clean, simple and ideal for what we were looking for. Staff were friendly, location perfect and price very competitive. Security was good, we were always asked to show our passes. Would definitely recommend for groups of young travellers.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thanks! we are really happy we could help make for a memorable birthday! Time to start planning for the the big 3 1 ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    128
    56
    20
    16
See reviews for
4
49
46
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

As soon as we got to the reception, they explained out luxury apartment is a cab journey away. The hotel paid for our taxi to get to the apartment and we got free coffee and tea in the morning for all guests at the bulldog.

Great large apartment with a tv and sofas to chill in with a lovely clean kitchen. No oven in this apartment was one downfall!

There was lovely spare food etc e.g. Tea and coffee from other guests. Smoking facilities through the apartment.

The apartment was lovely and coloured in pure white which had a really clean modern feel to it.
There was 2 bedrooms 6 beds in total though. Great for a group of friends to chill and relax in Amsterdam.

Highly recommend and would stay there again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
You got our favorite room!! Glad you liked it too! this room is right on top of one of our shops, so there is always some Bulldog staff around to get you a coffee or some great advice !

Thank you for visiting with us :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Everything you need here,and it has a lift.Great vibe and good food in the bar downstairs,comfy rooms and friendly staff,considering it's listed as a budget hotel the place certainly goes that extra mile,will definately stay again.....

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Ah, the lift - mover of bags and drunken people alike - what would we do without you ;)

At the Bulldog, we are only budget in price. We love our guests and we always want your stay to be perfect. For us its important to try and do the little extra things that make every visit one to remember.

Thanks for noticing! See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cusco
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great location. Wifi its very bad is not really good when you travel alone. They only have one area for dining and smoking weed but thats not inoff when you want meet travelers smoke weed doesnt do everything.... very nice and helpfull staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Pricey hostel. Great location. Wifi sucks. Would be good if they had another common room with couches and maybe a tv to encourage socialising. They only have one common area for dining and smoking weed. Nice staff. Not all that good for the solo traveler.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We do offer FREE wifi to all of our guests and as a result there can be a lot of connections at the same time which can cause a slowdown for everyone. We know our guests want Wifi all the time and we are working hard to continue to improve our services.

There are always lots of single travelers around the Bulldog, come talk to the staff and maybe we can help out! Enjoy your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

The bulldog is perfect me and my friends love staying here as you can tell my review is on my 4th visit and long overdue!

Location Is perfect right in the heart of Amsterdam! Everything you need all in one place can't ask for anything else.

Rooms; we usually rent an apartment which is perfect huge rooms double beds, massive bathrooms comfty lounge area and nice fitted kicten! Short walk fr the actual hotel. This time we stayed in the hotel in a 3 bed it was nice everything you need tv shower room and 3 beds! My friend drew the short straw and had to sleep on the pulldown bed the bed flipped up in the night and sucked her in hahah! But she found it hilarious as did we! The rooms are very clean (well ours was) good size bathroom no complaints.

I don't understand the bad reviews about the staff! They are always so welcoming and friendly never had any issues! We go check in leave a passport get our passes go settle in go get our amsterdam goodies ;-) and straight back to the bulldog to chill out meet new people and have a nice relaxed time. The food there is good also I always eat the same thing as you can tell I like what I am used to so good old burger and chips and amazing apple pie mmmmm

As a repeat visitor I would definaltey recommend the bulldog it is awesome! Don't listen to the bad reviews try It out they wouldn't of been around so long if they was that bad!! We are staying in their new supri apartments in a few weeks so I will Review again.

See you on the 1st November bulldog!! :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
One of the nicest reviews ever! We couldn't be happier that you''re coming back for your 5th stay. We hope that this one is the best yet.

We will be looking forward to hearing what you think of our Spui apartment. Have a great weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Well organized
Super common area
You can go by walk any where - u can Also rent a bike around - 15 min walk u got the Train station
Red District l just few minuts wolk from the hostel
It is safe .

Please do the Keukenhof tour
Millions toulips to see - but i think it is available only in the summer season ( april - may )

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Nice of you to take the time to review us after so long! Great advice on the Keukenhof. A must see for everyone at least once. But since you've not been here for a year , it sounds like its time for another trip to Amsterdam!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bulldog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulldog Hotel

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 216-220, Amsterdam 1012 GJ, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 171 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up in one of the highest rated hostels,located in the middle of one of the most visually stunning cities in the world! The Bulldog Hostel Amsterdam is loaded with that typical international and liberal atmosphere that makes Amsterdam so special... besides other things. You can either choose to stay in a dorm, a private room or one of our cool apartments whenever you come stumbling back from your Amsterdam adventure! We will make sure it will feel like your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your The Bulldog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bulldog Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.